2nd brew just some questions

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

stattonb

Reaction score
heya so im new to home brewing and im on my 2nd brew the first brew was ok but not the best aas i brought a brigalow starter kit and from reading up on here i was almost guaranteed a crap brew...so after that went to the home brew shop got some good yeast (US05) and morgans aussie larger mix and started a brew,reading was 1040 when i started and 3 days later its at 1020 with no foam but the airlock going good (tho after reading on here im thinking of just going the glad wrap way) i had the brew at 22 degress the whole time but my question is it to fast to be half fermented as my first brew took 2 weeks to get to that stage.
Sorry for the newbie question.

That's not too fast a fermentation, sounds about right. From what I remember I didn't get a lot of foam (krausen) when using kits either.
It may be that you're using better/healthier yeast at a more appropriate pitch rate than your past brews.

22c is a little high for us05, I aim to use it around 16-17c for around 8-10 days check gravity raising temp 1c for the last three days each then check gravity if at or close to expected fg, I raise to 25 for 2 days then crash to 2c to clear out. This can take a normal ferment out to15 to 20 days but I find results in a nice clean clear beer.