1st Time Hopping

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Goldfish

Reaction score
HI guys

I am relatively new to the homebrew scene (this is my second season). i am looking to try adding some hops for the first time. Last year i spent brewing coopers can to the recipe's stated just to see what i liked and what i didn't. Believe me when i say i found them both!! Now i want to try adding some hops. i have some saaz pellets and am after some advice as too how best to use them. What quantity should i use and should i dry hop or boil them. As an example i am a big fan of james squires range of beer and am looking to brew something simillar using extract kits as i haven't gone down the mash road yet.

Regards goldfish

Ok, I will try and help someone and not just make smart arse comments....

Hops: SAAZ is a nice hop. So if you wanna use it for flavour boil it for 30 odd minutes and for aroma 15 and under...

My favourite hops so far are Chinook for bittering and Cascade for flavour and aroma but each to their own!

So if you are going to boil them, get a pot and add about 100g of LDME per litre of water... this will give the pot contents a SG of about 1.040 which is what you want to boil your hops in to get full utilisation of said hop!

Then you need to learn that different amount of boil time will affect the hops differently in your beer..

I got this of the mighty 'Butters' and it makes it visually make sense.

View attachment 20926

So i hope this helps.

You can always start with 'teabag' style aroma's from your local HBS and work your way up but my tip is don't be afraid, jump on into a boil and use some bittering, flavour and aroma hops.. you will be amazed at the results ;-)

If you are happy with your brews from a can and sugars, adding hops will change your brewing for the better... forever!!