Yeast starters - a bit like "it never rains in Southern California"

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Drover's dog

Reaction score
To the degree of my understanding on yeast starters I hold up my hands and ask...

But first a bit of background I'm an engineer so at some time, along time ago I could do math, now when you all talk about (x) billions of yeast cells in a starters , I really have to ask myself were is the proof in your long stories on this issue.
Why use good DME spin it for, according to y'all anything from 9hrs,13hrs and even 3 days. Then you chill it, throw all but the yeast away and consider yourself as having made a great starter.
Chemist I'm not but if you're interested in high performance turbines, I'm your man. Starters are a bit like 'it never rains in Southern California' but it does.

There is an old saying in brewing "we make wort - yeast makes beer" you will (or at least can) make the best beer possible from a wort if you pitch the right amount of healthy (Vitality) and live (Viability) yeast.
There are pretty well understood amounts of yeast required to get the most from the wort you made. Its very important to understand that yeast does a lot more than just make alcohol. It's prime directive is to make yeast, it also removes some wort constituents that we don't want in the finished beer, changes the pH of the beer, produces esters that give flavour...
So getting the pitch right is pretty important.
If you want to do a bit of reading try what Braukaiser has to say, its pretty rational - a lot of what you will read on forums is (trying to be polite) problematic!

I count yeast by spinning down a sample in a lab centrifuge and weighing, can use a turbidity meter for rough counts and am working on setting up a couple of new propagators for semi commercial volumes.