Wy 1187

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hoohaaman

Reaction score
I have no experience with 1187 but some with 1469.I have just cultured up a slant of this yeast for the first time.I missed it, yeast gathered at the bottom, wort clear.WOW

I have read numerous reports as to stirring every two days(something that would make me never use this yeast)for full attenuation.Is that true,or just at lower temps.Is this yeast only active at a certain temp,if so what temp to brew without constant fiddling?

Thanks

My last 3 brews have all been from an 1187 yeast saved from a brew a few months ago that was straight from the smack pack, that first brew required a considerable amount of external arousal before it fired, 2-3 days. Last 3 brews I pitched starters that were happily Krausening away, had krausen within 24 hours, no need to slap it about to wake it up.

I think Ringwood yeasties just need to be in party mode when you chuck them in, not just after they have had breakfast.

PS, i really like this yeast, my FES I'm drinking roight now is grouse!

so a massive yeast count,at what temp.will balance it out?and what temp will this one really have a nap at?

Cheers

My one and only 1187 brew was recultured from a case swap bottle and made into a starter. The brew was a 7+% smoked porter and seemed to kick off and attenuate fine with little encouragement. I find London ale III to be a harder yeast to push (starts fermenting like crazy then slows right down and takes an eon to flocc out).

Manticle and

ThirstyBunyip thanks for your feedback dudes.Think I'll ditch 1187 and just stock 1469 in my fridge

Cheers