Will This Recipe Work?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hobbsy4

Reaction score
Hi All,

I'm fairly new to this brewing game - I put down a brew 2 days ago which is sitting at 24oC; maybe its a little high? The brew is a czech pilsener from a Brew Craft concentrate.

Today I went back to the homebrew shop to buy ingrediants for the next brew when this one finishes next week. I'm not if these ingrediants will give a good taste - anyone got an opinion?

Morgans Royal Oak Amber Ale 'smooth full flavoured beer with a high hop level and caramel aroma'
Booster blend - 500 gm dextrose; 250 gm corn syrup; 250 gm powdered light malt
Dextrose - 400 gm
Finishing hops - Fuggles

Will the taste of hops be overpowering in this blend, or the type of hops wrong? The extra 400 gm is just to boost the alcohol a little...

Cheers,
Hobbsy

the finishing hops wont overpower, just give different flavours
experiment and see what you like
24 with a morgans kit should be fine

You will have elements of this beer fighting each other.

An Amber Ale is quite malt driven. By adding the Booster Blend and Dextrose you will have 900 gr dextrose. That and the 250 gr corn syrup are virtually fully fermentable. Although you will achieve higher alcohol, you will also dry the beer out, taking away from the desired body and maltiness of an Amber Ale. I wouldn't do it and, instead, look at replacing say 500 gr of the Dextrose with LDME. That will tend to keep your beer more in style as an Amber Ale.

The Fuggles finishing hops will go well with this style of beer.

Having said that, it's your beer, and if you want to experiment in this fashion, there's nothing to stop you. If you don't try, you don't learn.

.That and the 250 gr corn syrup are virtually fully fermentable.