Wheat Beer - Secret Ingredient?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

eddy401

Reaction score
G'day

im thinking of doing a 'thomas coopers wheat beer' and adding something to it to try make it a bit more unique, any ideas? im still fairly new to brewing so simple ideas would be appreciated :icon_cheers: is the yeast in this kit good enough? does anyone know what effects adding vanilla extract would have - i added a squeezy bottle of lemon extract on impulse to my last brew (coopers mex cerveza) and that actually turned out perfectly, just the right amount of lemon taste for me. Honey to make a kind of beez knees perhaps? and i dont know anything about hopps, how to add them or their effects, i dont do a boil i dont have the equipment or time at the moment, but i am planning on racking it for a week or two after fermentation, so what would be a good and easy one to use?

cheers in advance! :drinks:

If you're looking for that unique wheat beer flavour it's all about the yeast.

Saf WB-06 does a decent rendition but Wyeast 3068 or Bavarian Wit (can't recall the number) provide the real deal.

http://www.aussiehomebrewer.com/forum//ind...t=6&start=0

I'm making a wheat beer now with this yeast - apparently its all about the pitching temp

I pitched WB-06 at 9C and let it rise and ferment at 18C.

This beer was a hit at a recent IBUs meet and with everyone else that has tried it. Good balance of clove, bubblegum and bananna. Not tart.

It's amazing how simple and good this recipe is - no acid rest, no protein rest, no decoction...

Spend a bit extra on some decent yeast. I have used both wyeast 3068 and 3638 with good results. The 3068 seems to be everyone's favorite, but if you like more of a bubblegum flavour go the 3638. You won't be dissapointed with either way.