What Temperature For Coopers Brews And How Long?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Barley Belly

Head Brewer - Barley Belly Brewery
Reaction score
As you can tell I'm very new to home brewing. I've started out with two Coopers fermenters and associated accessories and plan to start off using the supermarket/home brew shop tinned brews.

The first one I made was Tooheys Special Draught with 500g dextrose in my father in laws fermenter in his brew cupboard, fermented for 7 days at 25 deg, then bottled and primed white sugar and left for a further 7 days in the 25 deg. Tasted coupla long necks yesterday, a little greeen as they say???, but all in all tasted OK after only a week and a half in the bottles.

My second one I used the same Tooheys but in my Coopers fermenter with 1kg Coopers Brew Enhancer 1 with yeast rehydrated in 200ml water, fermented for 7 days again in the father in laws cupboard at 25 deg. Racked it into second fermenter with 200g Dextrose boiled down in 500ml water and bottled 3 days ago.

While this was all going on, I built my own heated brew cupboard so I could do it myself at my place.
2 days ago the first brew I put down in my cupboard was Coopers Draught with 1kg Coopers Brew Enhancer 1 with yeast rehydrated in 200ml water, and I set the temp at 22 deg as I had read it was a better temp. 2 days along and it's bubbling along fine and hope to leave in the fermenter for 12 days as I read this is also beneficial.

Last night around 9pm I decided in my spare fermenter I would make some Coopers Alcoholic Ginger Beer. Followed directions to the letter using 1 kg raw sugar except I rehydrated the yeast in 200ml water and added before sealing up and putting airlock on.