What are you brewing II ?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I didn't think bad language was in your portfolio Les? I thought it was just spelling and grammar. :p

Could have been worse............. i could have spelt it siht

No........... shite, thats the way i say it sometimes so will stick with that

:p

Gonna throw this on tommorow morning hopefully before pale ale mania..

BeerSmith Recipe Printout - www.beersmith.com
Recipe: Pale Ale
Brewer: Fenton
Asst Brewer: Troy
Style: American Pale Ale
TYPE: All Grain
Taste: (35.0)

Recipe Specifications
--------------------------
Batch Size: 76.50 L
Boil Size: 90.00 L
Estimated OG: 1.048 SG
Estimated Color: 11.4 EBC
Estimated IBU: 31.2 IBU
Brewhouse Efficiency: 65.0 %
Boil Time: 60 Minutes

------------
Amount Item Type % or IBU
17.00 kg Pale Malt, Traditional Ale (Joe White) (5.9Grain 94.4 %
0.50 kg Carared (Weyermann) (47.3 EBC) Grain 2.8 %
0.50 kg Munich Malt (IMC) (11.8 EBC) Grain 2.8 %
65.00 gm Horizon [9.50%] (60 min) Hops 20.1 IBU
40.00 gm Cascade [8.60%] (30 min) Hops 7.9 IBU
25.00 gm Cascade [8.60%] (15 min) Hops 3.2 IBU
30.00 gm Cascade [8.60%] (0 min) Hops -
4 Pkgs SafAle American Ale (US56) (DCL Yeast #S-05Yeast-Ale

This little number is cracked and ready to go in the morning:

Oatmeal Stout
77% Maris Otter
8% Uncle Toby's Quick Oats
6% Baird's Pale Choc
5% Roast Barley
4% Baird's Dark Crystal
Mash at 67 to 1.060
Some English type hops to 36 IBUs at 60 and 15
Wyeast 1469 at 18 for a couple of weeks

Sounds tops mate......... the 1469 is definatly suited to a dark beer!

was thinking of making an old ale type of beer and fermenting it at 16 to 17 with the 1469 and leaving it in the bottle for a couple of years to age out.

See how it goes.

Ahhhh too many beers to brew.

so I collected + sparged slowly. Slower than usual and may have achieved over 92% extract efficiency.
Boo-yaa for the new mill, I reckon.

The mild looks dark enough, so I didn't add any dark grains to adjust the colour.
It's quite biscuity and dryish. Let's hope it works well with W1187...but what beer doesn't? [that's a rhetorical question for those boobs who'd want to answer it].

Goatherder, I refuse to limit myself to spelling and grammar. :D
Tony, I hear ya...too, too many brews :p

Trying to get a nice semii dark Belgian ale together...its in the mash tun now:

08-03-2008 Belgian Dark
A ProMash Brewing Session Report
--------------------------------

Brewing Date: Sunday August 03, 2008
Head Brewer: John M Fraser
Asst Brewer:
Recipe: Belgian Brunette

Recipe Specifics
----------------

Batch Size (L): 40.00 Wort Size (L): 40.00
Total Grain (Kg): 9.50
Anticipated OG: 1.062 Plato: 15.15
Anticipated SRM: 7.9
Anticipated IBU: 21.3
Brewhouse Efficiency: 82 %
Wort Boil Time: 60 Minutes

Actual OG: 1.060 Plato: 14.78
Actual FG: 1.012 Plato: 3.07

Alc by Weight: 4.97 by Volume: 6.36 From Measured Gravities.
ADF: 79.2 RDF 66.0 Apparent & Real Degree of Fermentation.

Formulas Used
-------------

Brewhouse Efficiency and Predicted Gravity based on Method #1, Potential Used.
Final Gravity Calculation Based on Points.
Hard Value of Sucrose applied. Value for recipe: 46.2100 ppppg
Yield Type used in Gravity Prediction: Fine Grind Dry Basis.

Color Formula Used: Morey
Hop IBU Formula Used: Rager

Additional Utilization Used For Plug Hops: 2 %
Additional Utilization Used For Pellet Hops: 10 %

Grain/Extract/Sugar

% Amount Name Origin Potential SRM
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
73.7 7.00 kg. Pilsener Germany 1.038 2
21.1 2.00 kg. Weyermann Pale Wheat Germany 1.038 2
5.3 0.50 kg. Candi Sugar Syrup Belgium 1.031 80

Potential represented as SG per pound per gallon.

Hops

Amount Name Form Alpha IBU Boil Time
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
15.24 g. Styrian Goldings Pellet 5.25 6.2 60 min.
45.71 g. Hallertau Hersbrucker Pellet 4.75 15.1 45 min.

Yeast
-----

WYeast 3522 Belgian Ardennes

Mash Schedule
-------------

Mash Type: Single Step
Heat Type: Direct

Grain kg: 9.00
Water Qts: 31.72 - Before Additional Infusions
Water L: 30.02 - Before Additional Infusions

L Water Per kg Grain: 3.34 - Before Additional Infusions

Tun Thermal Mass: 0.00
Grain Temp: 80 F

Dough In Temp: 0 Time: 0
Saccharification Rest Temp: 0 Time: 0
Mash-out Rest Temp: 0 Time: 0
Sparge Temp: 0 Time: 0

Runnings Stopped At: 1.010 SG 2.56 Plato

Total Mash Volume L: 36.03 - After Additional Infusions

All temperature measurements are degrees Fahrenheit.

Water Needed For Brewing Session
--------------------------------

Sparge Amount: 30.00 Sparge Deadspace: 1.00 Total Into Mash: 29.00

Total Grain Kg: 9.00 Ltr Per Kg: 3.34 Total From Mash: 21.00
Mash Liters: 30.02
Grain Absorption: 9.01

Amount Lost in Lauter Tun Deadspace,
Grant and Misc. to Kettle: 1.50

Top Up Water Added to Kettle: 0.00
Amount into Kettle: 48.50

Boil Time (min): 60.00 Evaporation Rate: 12.00
Amount after Boil: 42.68

Left in Kettle Deadspace: 1.00
Left in Hopback: 0.00
Left in Counterflow Chiller: 0.50
Left in Other Equipment / Other Absorption: 0.00

Amount to Chillers: 41.18
Amount After Cooling (4 perc.): 39.54

Grain absorption rate is: 1.01 (L Per kg)

Evaporation rate is Percent per Hour

This formulation will yield 39.54 liters of fermentable wort.

You will need 60.02 liters of water for the complete brewing session.

This one again today, the flour makes it a real bitch to recirc through the HERMS, but by the time mash out has finished it's running well, so no stuck sparge.

Style: Kolsch

25.00 L
Boil: 90 Minutes
OG: 1.044 SG
Color: 4.7 SRM
IBU: 28.8 IBU

3.28 kg Pale Malt, Galaxy (Barrett Burston) (1.5 Grain 73.17 %
0.49 kg Carared (20.0 SRM) Grain 10.98 %
0.49 kg Spelt flour (1.6 SRM) Grain 10.98 %
0.22 kg Cara-Pils/Dextrine (2.0 SRM) Grain 4.88 %
25.00 gm Hallertauer [6.60 %] (60 min) Hops 17.5 IBU
45.00 gm Tettnang (Age Adjusted) [3.08 %] (30 minHops 11.3 IBU
1 Pkgs Kolsch Yeast (Wyeast Labs #2565) [StarterYeast-Ale

Mash
20 min Mash In - Acid rest Add 16.99 L of water at 45.6 C 40.0 C
20 min Protein Rest Heat to 50.0 C over 15 min 50.0 C
15 min Sacc B Rest Heat to 64.0 C over 15 min 64.0 C
45 min Sacc A Rest Heat to 67.0 C over 10 min 67.0 C
10 min Mash Out Heat to 77.0 C over 15 min 77.0 C

Hey Warren........... if you deselect all the tick boxes in promash before you copy to clipboard you get a simple report without all the shit noone cares about

:D Too much like hard work!

I must confess I alway find the water report part a bit borin' :lol:

I included the mash schedule because I did similar (but not exactly the same) to the BDG mash schedule stipulated in Farmhouse Ales. I'm hoping to get some really good attenuation.

55 degrees for 20 mins
62 degrees for 45 mins
68 degrees for 15 mins
mashout.

Put this down last night, was going for a bock but dont think it will be dark enough...

1.8kg Muntons liquid light malt extract
Brewcraft #60 German Lager kit converter
500grams liquid glucose
150grams dextrose
200grams Caramalt
150grams Crystal malt
175 grams Chocolate malt
21 grams Hallertau finishing hops
Saflager s23 yeast

Final Volume - 22 litres.. OG was 1051

This little number is cracked and ready to go in the morning:

Oatmeal Stout
77% Maris Otter
8% Uncle Toby's Quick Oats
6% Baird's Pale Choc
5% Roast Barley
4% Baird's Dark Crystal
Mash at 67 to 1.060
Some English type hops to 36 IBUs at 60 and 15
Wyeast 1469 at 18 for a couple of weeks

been looking for a stout recipe to try, whats the process for the oats, just run them through the mill with the other grain ?

Yard

This one again today, the flour makes it a real bitch to recirc through the HERMS, but by the time mash out has finished it's running well, so no stuck sparge.

Style: Kolsch

25.00 L
Boil: 90 Minutes
OG: 1.044 SG
Color: 4.7 SRM
IBU: 28.8 IBU

3.28 kg Pale Malt, Galaxy (Barrett Burston) (1.5 Grain 73.17 %
0.49 kg Carared (20.0 SRM) Grain 10.98 %
0.49 kg Spelt flour (1.6 SRM) Grain 10.98 %
0.22 kg Cara-Pils/Dextrine (2.0 SRM) Grain 4.88 %
25.00 gm Hallertauer [6.60 %] (60 min) Hops 17.5 IBU
45.00 gm Tettnang (Age Adjusted) [3.08 %] (30 minHops 11.3 IBU
1 Pkgs Kolsch Yeast (Wyeast Labs #2565) [StarterYeast-Ale

Mash
20 min Mash In - Acid rest Add 16.99 L of water at 45.6 C 40.0 C
20 min Protein Rest Heat to 50.0 C over 15 min 50.0 C
15 min Sacc B Rest Heat to 64.0 C over 15 min 64.0 C
45 min Sacc A Rest Heat to 67.0 C over 10 min 67.0 C
10 min Mash Out Heat to 77.0 C over 15 min 77.0 C

you make it sound so easy screwy ;)

Yard

you make it sound so easy screwy ;)

Yard

This one is a real biatch Yard, but worth it. Have to stir every 15 min during rests and steps as the flour packs down the grainbed nearly stopping the flow through the HERMS. Approaching mashout, once the mash reaches above 70 the wort is much lower in viscosity and flows really well, surprisingly the sparge goes through without sticking or slowing.

Mashing this using the Mystery hops from this post.

Moronic Monk #2

3.00 kg Pale Malt
2.00 kg Munich I
0.15 kg Melanoiden Malt
15.00 gm Chinook [11.00 %] (60 min) (First Wort Hop) Hops 15.3 IBU
20.00 gm 'Mystery hops' I think are Tettnang [4.50 %] (60 min) (First Wort Hop) Hops 8.4 IBU, [could be Hersbrucker] ;)
20.00 gm 'Mystery hops' could be Tettnang [4.50 %] (30 min) Hops 5.8 IBU
0.37 kg Dememera Sugar
0.15 kg Honey
1 Pkgs Trappist High Gravity (Wyeast Labs #3787) Morphed house yeast.

22L

been looking for a stout recipe to try, whats the process for the oats, just run them through the mill with the other grain ?

Yard

Spot on Yardy, I just ran them through with the rest. You can probably get away with not crushing them at all.

Tomorrow;

Trippin' out Tripel

Batch size: 19L
Est OG: 1090
IBU: 27
Boil time: 90 min

6.00 kg Bohemian Pilsener
1.00 kg Vienna
0.50 Muscavado sugar (day 3 of ferment)
0.50 Muscavado sugar (day 4 of ferment)

15g Northern Brewer @ 90 min
1 Plug of Styrian Goldings @ 30 min
2 plugs of Czech Saaz @ flameout

Fermented at 20C with Wyeast 1388

Didn't end up brewing this one until the Sunday and racked it tonight. OG was 1075 from the grain and I didn't have time to take readings before and after the sugar additions. Looking at it now in secondary it has a fantastic colour and tastes really good, big malty profile but maybe a bit too much alcohol warming from the sugar, but that may settle with bottle conditioning. It's sitting at 1035 at the moment and I'm hoping it'll get down to the 1015-1012 mark in a week or two. It's been sitting at 20C, but I'm wondering wether to leave it here or cool it slightly for the rest of the ferment?

Brewing MKII of my Rogers Clone tomorrow, and unlike some forum members, I really like a good, flavourful midstrength ale!

1.10kg BB Ale
1.00kg BB Galaxy
1.00kg Weyermann Munich
350g Bairds Med Crystal
150g CaraAroma
100g CaraRed

20g Newport @ 60 mins
25g Cascade @ Flameout
Koppafloc

Mash @ 69C

OG: 1.038
FG: 1.009
US-05 yeast @ around 18C

Should be just a touch better than the on-tap version, with (I'm hoping) slightly more Cascade in the flavour and aroma!

Got my first FULL AG brewed yesterday arvo and i'll give you one guess at what I brewed. :D

I set my effeciency to 65% but still fall 5 points short.

I still haven't got my chiller sorted so I went the cube option, then i had a ******* of a time when I had to put the lid on the willow water container. The heat from the wort softend the thread and the cap would not seal and I ended up having air in the cube. :angry:

So I had a very eventfull arvo and can't wait for my next one, I think I'll get a vienna ready for barbie season.

Just pitched my yeast and cant wait to taste the spoils. :icon_cheers:

Schooey, don't cool your Belgian yeast until you want it to go into a coma.
They are sensitive to temp decrease, drop out and can't be revived.
Just some thoughts...

Status
Not open for further replies.