What are you brewing II ?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Ummmmmmmm!!!!! Wit, ummm! Coriander, ummm Bitter Orange umm Wit.

'IM SO CONFUSED!! have been in a brewing frenzy, 9 AG's since getting home at the end of May. Just get settled on a direction "yep I'll brew Lagers during the winter ready for spring, then Hefe's and Wit's during the spring for summer ....and" Then you buggers come up with Wit's and Hefe's and Porters and Pilseners, I want to brew all of them NOW and have them ready NEXT WEEK :angry:

Hey screwy,

Send them down to me if you cant manage, you have my address :p

Have a couple of brews going atm.

one is an apa, the other a perry of sorts.

apa is an extract brew.

250g medium crystal (120ebc)
~25g-30g POR @ 60min
~30g-40g cascade @ 30min
~20g-30g cascade @ 5min
4kg light dried malt.

made up to 24L and pitched onto us-05 yeastcake from previous brew.

only problem was the burner blew out somewhere between the 30min addition and just before the last addition. dont think it was out for long as it got back on the boil pretty quickly. smelt amazing.

perry was just a blackrock cider can, 1.5kg table sugar and 2L of natural preservative free etc. pear juice. fermented with the crap under the lid as im hoping it wont attenuate too much so a bit of sweetness will remain.

bout time eric thought id never see you on the register :beer:

Thanks Kingy, I felt like I was never going to get my name on that register either, but now I have. :D :chug: :super:

Thanks Kingy, I felt like I was never going to get my name on that register either, but now I have.

Well done Eric, you'll never look back now mate :beerbang:

No brewing for me for the past couple of weeks :( Pulled the BC apart last Saturday for a good clean, amazing how much grain dust build up there was, to look at you wouldn't pick it. Then to top it off, spent Saturday night with the wife at her annual ball at the Convention Centre at Darling Harbour after being offered free tickets to the Wallabies match. Over 3,000 folks from Flight Centre there, all dressed up in my suit with only Tooheys New to drink :blink:

She has done well though. Free trip to Dublin at the end of next week (1 day over, 2 days on the ground, 1 day back) for the Global Ball. No partners allowed and all I can ask for is a Guinness Pint Glass :(

Here's hoping some brewing this weekend.

I want to do a all chinook ale next.

After making 2 brews on the weekend I forgot I had some chinook in the freezer.

johnno

just threw this together as i was locked out of the house :angry: and only had my shed key hope she turns out all right. On top of this i dropped my thermometer :angry: and broke it 30mins into the mash time so lucky i didnt need anymore as i just reheated the mash temp.

Brewer: KINGY
Asst Brewer:
Style: KINGYS STYLE
TYPE: All Grain
Taste: (35.0)

Recipe Specifications
--------------------------
Batch Size: 23.00 L
Boil Size: 25.00 L
Estimated OG: 1.073 SG
Estimated Color: 11.5 EBC
Estimated IBU: 61.7 IBU
Brewhouse Efficiency: 75.0 %
Boil Time: 60 Minutes

------------
Amount Item Type % or IBU
3.60 kg Vienna Malt (6.9 EBC) Grain 49.0 %
3.30 kg Pilsner (2 Row) Ger (3.9 EBC) Grain 44.9 %
0.45 kg Cara-Pils/Dextrine (3.9 EBC) Grain 6.1 %
43.00 gm Amarillo Gold [8.90%] (60 min) Hops 32.9 IBU
17.00 gm Fuggles [4.50%] (60 min) Hops 6.6 IBU
40.00 gm Cascade [6.70%] (30 min) Hops 17.7 IBU
30.00gm amirillo Gold [8.90%] (5 min) Hops 4.6 IBU
1.00 items Whirlfloc Tablet (Boil 15.0 min) Misc
2 Pkgs SafLager West European Lager (DCL Yeast Yeast-Lager slurry

Mash Schedule: My Mash
Total Grain Weight: 7.35 kg
----------------------------

Planning a Hefeweizen using B-Saaz for Thursday nite brewing.

Weizened Up
23 liter

3kg Wheat malt
2kg JW Trad Ale
24gm Hallertau
12gm B-Saaz
10gm B-Saaz

mash @ 67 C

hopefully not over-doing the b-saaz component.

I'm going to brew this next weekend.
As soon as I get a spare 5 minutes :p .

Have not tried chinook yet so looking forward to it.

chinook it
American Pale Ale

Type: All Grain
Date: 10/07/2007
Batch Size: 27.00 L
Brewer:
Boil Size: 34.30 L Asst Brewer:
Boil Time: 60 min Equipment: My Equipment
Taste Rating(out of 50): 35.0 Brewhouse Efficiency: 75.0
Taste Notes:

Ingredients

5.50 kg Pale Malt, Ale (Barrett Burston) (5.9 EBC) Grain 100.0 %
21.00 gm Chinook [12.10%] (60 min) Hops 24.1 IBU
27.00 gm Chinook [12.10%] (5 min) Hops 6.2 IBU
1 Pkgs Northwest Ale (Wyeast Labs #1332) [Starter 1200 ml] Yeast-Ale

Beer Profile

Est Original Gravity: 1.048 SG
Measured Original Gravity: 1.010 SG
Est Final Gravity: 1.015 SG Measured Final Gravity: 1.005 SG
Estimated Alcohol by Vol: 4.4 % Actual Alcohol by Vol: 0.6 %
Bitterness: 30.2 IBU Calories: 90 cal/l
Est Color: 9.0 EBC

johnno

For my 200th brew (22nd AG) ive gone for one of my all time favourites Jayses Skunk Fart XLCR with a few more hop additions.

2kg Pilsner Malt (Weyermann)
1.75kg Marris Otter
1kg Wheat Malt

35gms Amarillo @ 60
25gms Amarillo @ 30
20gms Cascade @ 15 & Whirlfloc
20gms Cascade @ 10
20gms Cascade @ 0

1 x Nottingham Dry yeast.

This is also my first no chill :ph34r:

Henno is coming over this weekend for an AG demo, we will also be making his extract Duvel as well.
For the AG were going to have a go at the Schofferhoffer Weizen Clone that has been talked about previously on AHB.

Here is what I have come up with, please comment if you have any suggestions.

Recipe: Schofferhoffer Weizen Clone
Brewer: Andrew Clark
Asst Brewer: Henno
Style: Weizen/Weissbier
Taste: (45.0)

Recipe Specifications
Boil Size: 32.82 L
Estimated OG: 1.050 SG
Estimated Color: 3.3 SRM
Estimated IBU: 19.0 IBU
Brewhouse Efficiency: 70.00 %
Boil Time: 90 Minutes

------------
3.10 kg Wheat Malt, Malt Craft (Joe White) (1.8 SRMGrain 59.62 %
2.10 kg Pale Malt, Galaxy (Barrett Burston) (1.5 SRGrain 40.38 %
45.00 gm Hallertauer Mittelfrueh [4.00 %] (60 min) Hops 19.0 IBU
1 Pkgs Weihenstephan Weizen (Wyeast Labs #3068) [SYeast-Wheat

Mash Schedule: Double Infusion, Medium Body
Total Grain Weight: 5.20 kg
Double Infusion, Medium Body
Step Time Name Description Step Temp
30 min Protein Rest Add 9.78 L of water at 60.2 C 50.0 C
30 min Saccrification Add 11.02 L of water at 88.3 C 67.8 C

AQ - let us know how this goes as im after a recipe too.

:super: A contest winning AIPA

4Kgs of JW Pale
900gms Vienna
200 gms Dark Munich
150 gms Caramunich II

Simcoe for Bittering
Centenial for flavouring
Simcoe Cascade and Warrior at flame out and dry
WLP008 Yeast

4Kgs of JW Pale
900gms Vienna
200 gms Dark Munich
150 gms Caramunich II

Simcoe for Bittering
Centenial for flavouring
WLP008 Yeast

Contest winning you say <_<

Ive been planning my AIPA for tomorrow that I plan to enter in the up coming comps... ended up getting the hops out for a smell before finally deciding on what to use :D

Henno is coming over this weekend for an AG demo, we will also be making his extract Duvel as well.
For the AG were going to have a go at the Schofferhoffer Weizen Clone that has been talked about previously on AHB.

Here is what I have come up with, please comment if you have any suggestions.

Recipe: Schofferhoffer Weizen Clone
Brewer: Andrew Clark
Asst Brewer: Henno
Style: Weizen/Weissbier
Taste: (45.0)

Recipe Specifications
Boil Size: 32.82 L
Estimated OG: 1.050 SG
Estimated Color: 3.3 SRM
Estimated IBU: 19.0 IBU
Brewhouse Efficiency: 70.00 %
Boil Time: 90 Minutes

------------
3.10 kg Wheat Malt, Malt Craft (Joe White) (1.8 SRMGrain 59.62 %
2.10 kg Pale Malt, Galaxy (Barrett Burston) (1.5 SRGrain 40.38 %
45.00 gm Hallertauer Mittelfrueh [4.00 %] (60 min) Hops 19.0 IBU
1 Pkgs Weihenstephan Weizen (Wyeast Labs #3068) [SYeast-Wheat
Mash Schedule: Double Infusion, Medium Body
Total Grain Weight: 5.20 kg
Double Infusion, Medium Body
Step Time Name Description Step Temp
30 min Protein Rest Add 9.78 L of water at 60.2 C 50.0 C
30 min Saccrification Add 11.02 L of water at 88.3 C 67.8 C

Looks the goods Andrew, ferm at 21 and maybe use Zwickels mash sched (ferulic acid rest) for improving the banana and clove esters.

Referring to the topic, Id like to know if anyone is doing a ferula-acid rest at 42C when a Weizen is produced?

for example my mash schedule for a Weizen looks like that:

mash in at 35 heat up to 42 and rest for 30-40 min. (ferula-acid rest)
step up to 63 for 30min.,
then go to 72 for 30min.
go to 78 and mash out.

the ferula-acid rest produces a beautiful banana aroma :) yum

So any comments to that?

Prost

I was planning on doing that Screwtop, but then thought seeing as it's a brew demo the added complexity might be a bit off putting, plus you know what it's like when you attempt something new, instant stuff up!!
I will be doing a 50c and then a 67c rest, I think a two step mash might be more than enough for a first timer :lol: . But I will be giving zwickels mash schedule a go when I get my new malt supplies.

Steve, I will post back and give full tasting details.

Well, I'm getting back on the bike tomorrow. Last Sunday's brewday was postponed after an unfortunate incident during a Hop Monster fuelled afternoon at Potters on Saturday. The decision to kick the footy around late in the afternoon was guaranteed to end in tears. I spent most of the week on the couch nursing my swollen ankle.

Anyhow, SWBO came to the rescue and generously offered to do the heavy lifting so the Bo Pilsner is going down tomorrow. Here is the plan:

5.40 kg Pilsner (Weyermann) (3.3 EBC) 96.4 %
0.20 kg Melanoidin (Weyermann) (59.1 EBC) 3.6 %
96.00 gm Saaz [2.50%] (60 min)
50.00 gm Saaz [2.50%] (30 min)
50.00 gm Saaz [2.50%] (10 min)
30.00 gm Saaz [2.50%] (0 min)

Single infusion 67 degrees

Wyeast 2001 Pilsner Urquell

4Kgs of JW Pale
900gms Vienna
200 gms Dark Munich
150 gms Caramunich II

Simcoe for Bittering
Centenial for flavouring
WLP008 Yeast
I'm curious what the warrior is like as a flavour/armoa hop. it's a very high AA% hop isn't it?

Way off style I know - but what the hell - Oranges from the Centennial and Marmalade from the Styrians + 1187 - hoping for a fruity little number.

Wish me luck - trying 1187 for the first time - Nottingham on standby.

RM

**** its Cold Bitter
Brew Type: All Grain Date: 18/07/2007
Style: Special/Best/Premium Bitter Brewer: Roger Mellie
Batch Size: 25.00 L Assistant Brewer: Tom
Boil Volume: 34.51 L Boil Time: 75 min
Brewhouse Efficiency: 75.0 % Equipment: Keg Kettle

Ingredients Amount Item Type % or IBU
4.30 kg Pale Malt, Maris Otter (5.9 EBC) Grain 86.0 %
0.25 kg Carared (39.4 EBC) Grain 5.0 %
0.25 kg Dark Crystal (350.0 EBC) Grain 5.0 %
0.20 kg Caramel Wheat Malt (90.6 EBC) Grain 4.0 %
20.00 gm Centennial [10.00%] (60 min) Hops 21.2 IBU
30.00 gm Bramling Cross [9.00%] (15 min) Hops 14.2 IBU
40.00 gm Styrian Goldings [5.40%] (90 min) (Mash Hop) Hops 4.9 IBU
40.00 gm Bramling Cross [6.00%] (20 min) (Aroma Hop-Steep) Hops -
40.00 gm Styrian Goldings [5.40%] (Dry Hop 3 days) Hops -
40.30 gm Styrian Goldings [5.40%] (10 min) (Aroma Hop-Steep) Hops -
1.00 tbsp Gypsum (Calcium Sulfate) (Mash 60.0 min) Misc
1.00 tsp Table Salt (Boil 90.0 min) Misc
1 Pkgs Ringwood Ale (Wyeast Labs #1187) Yeast-Ale

Beer Profile Estimated Original Gravity: 1.047 SG (1.040-1.048 SG)
Estimated Final Gravity: 1.012 SG (1.008-1.012 SG)
Estimated Color: 25.9 EBC (9.9-31.5 EBC) Color [Color]
Bitterness: 40.4 IBU (25.0-40.0 IBU) Alpha Acid Units: 3.7 AAU
Estimated Alcohol by Volume: 4.3 % (3.8-4.6 %)
Actual Calories: 399 cal/l

Notes
Total Volume of Pre Boil Required 35 Litres
Weight of Mash 5 Kilos
Mash Ratio 3 Litres of Water to 1kg of Grain
Assume that Mash retains 5 Litres of Water

Mash in with 15 Litres of water
Mash out with 7.5 Litres of 100 Deg C water
Sparge with 17.5 Litres of 85 Deg C Water

Mash Temp 68 DegC

Put this down yesterday.

Nelson's ******* Ale (Nelson coz of the hops and ******* coz ive no idea what it'll turn out like) :blink:

3.5kg Marris Otter
500gms Wheat Malt
500gms Caramunich II
40gms Choc Malt
30gms Roast Malt

35gms Northern Brewer (6.20% AA) @ 60 mins
15gms Nelson Sauvin (13% AA) @ 30 mins
15gms NS @ 15 mins + Whirlfloc
15gms NS @ 10 mins
20gms NS @ 0 mins

1 x Nottingham Ale yeast

Mashed @ 67 for 60 mins

No chilled overnight

SG 1040 - sample tastes wonderful

Comments anyone?

Sorry for the late reply, I reckon Warrior gives a mild piney aroma, plus I want to use up my stocks of it which will take forever if I use it only for bittering. Pre boil gravity came out a bit low because I didn't stop sparging in time so I boiled it hard for an extra half an hour until the wort got closer to the expected preboil gravity, but didn't turn the NASA down enough and ended up at 1.070 at the end of the boil instead of 1.061 or so. Chucked in some more water to get the gravity right, its hapily been fermenting in the laundry ever since, can't wait to get the dry hops in there! Its contest season soon so this and the next couple of brews will be destined for bottles and contests.

Status
Not open for further replies.