What are you brewing II ?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Sounds bloody tasty Screwy, would love a sample at some stage!!! :p

Just coming to the boil on a Smoked Porter...

Peat Smoked Porter:

OG: 1.050
FG: 1.012

4.25KG Maris Otter
200g Choc
100g CaraFa II
150g Peated Malt

Mash @ 68C 90 mins
Mashout @ 78C 10 mins

Boil 70 Mins

22g Pilgrim (UK) 60 mins

Chill and pitch S-189

Ferment @ 10C

Will be interesting to see the difference between the Peated malt in this batch, and the 2.7KG Smoked Malt in the previous!

There is something about peat and porter that gives me a chubby. Reckon we should swap beers down the track?.

Brew this !

Very pleased with this English Bitter. Love the toffee aroma from the wort caramelisation, also changed the colour to that beautiful red copper so many of the UK bitters have. Maybe wind back on the bittering hops by 2 - 3 IBU. The one fermented using 04 is slightly more fruity, Nottingham has produced a better beer IMO, has scrubbed off a little more hop bitterness but finished more dry which has balanced it out about the same as far as sweetness/bitterness balance goes. Toffee is more noticeable in the beer fermented using Nott. Will post again after they have had a few more weeks in the keg.

That really does sound good, I'll have to squeeze one into the shedule :) .

There is something about peat and porter that gives me a chubby. Reckon we should swap beers down the track?.

Yep, for sure.... as long as it actually swapping "beers" and not your smoky chubby........ ;) Ahem.....

:p

Nah, for sure, one of us will need to make the 2hr trek one weekend for sure :) Sometime soon I promise!

Screwy,

Loved this recipe from the start but having never reduced wort before, How exactly did you go about this? Is it a vigorious boil or more a rolling boil and how to you determine when your done?

Chappo

Reduced it from 2L to 300ml, rolling boil for about 35min then lower the heat as it begins to caramelise. Colour change is amazing adding this back. S-04 beer is 3.25ABV but full of character with good mouthfeel, have been trying to nail a great bitter for a while, low ABV but no way you would know. The Nott is 3.7 ABV different but very much the same - really has character, doesn't seem light in body at all.

That really does sound good, I'll have to squeeze one into the shedule :) .

What, at 49th on the "To Brew" Schedule! :p

Really, you just need to quit your job, install another 5 or 6 taps, and become the premiere venue on the Northside for Quality Beers :p

:ph34r:

PS: Screwy, If I remember correctly, at the Xmas Swap, you had a glass of my RauchBier, then proceeded to destroy Sqyre's bar glass by glass...... :ph34r:

Nah, I'm with you, smoky beers are bloody awesome. Honestly, my obsession stared with that arvo at yours in Caloundra where you fed me some Red Oak Rauch.... :icon_drool2: **** knows how I got home that night!

So now a tops Smoked beer has become my aim... been pretty close twice (Rauch with 85% Smoked Malt, and Smoked Porter MK I with 58%), so just need to get it perfect.... At that point, I guess I'll make some space in the spare room seeing as you'll likely move in (until the new shed it finished at least!!!)

PS: 1000 posts - **** the March pump - I'm truly a REAL brewer now :p (mind you, the constant brewing on a Wed night is REALLY helping :p)

PS: Screwy, If I remember correctly, at the Xmas Swap, you had a glass of my RauchBier, then proceeded to destroy Sqyre's bar glass by glass...... :ph34r:

And myself after that beer of Beersom's faark I was wasted, why were all the best beers so freaking big :)

LOL, because they're GOOOOOOD :p

Nah, really, the belgian beers are great, but Faark, really, just a nice bitter like yours screwy would be great, not only for the fact that you could function after 10, but you'd be an absolute legend with your megaswill mates... "**** mate, went to a mate's place mate on the weekend mate and fucken' downed 25 of the C***ts....."

PS: Screwy - I didn't break 'anything' at that swap, however if I had, I would most certainly blamed you...........

PPS: Sqyre, it was ALLLLLL Screwy....

Screwtop, in the English Bitter, was the 10% crystal from Bairds? If so, was it the pale or medium crystal?

Reduced it from 2L to 300ml, rolling boil for about 35min then lower the heat as it begins to caramelise. Colour change is amazing adding this back. S-04 beer is 3.25ABV but full of character with good mouthfeel, have been trying to nail a great bitter for a while, low ABV but no way you would know. The Nott is 3.7 ABV different but very much the same - really has character, doesn't seem light in body at all.

Cheers Screwy! I'm going to give it a go. Both the recipe and the technique that is. Hopefully won't burn the bejesus out of it.

Chappo

Screwtop, in the English Bitter, was the 10% crystal from Bairds? If so, was it the pale or medium crystal?

Medium crystal mate, buy it 2Kg at a time, has Med Crystal on the bag but not the Maltster's name, from CB so maybe Bairds sorry can't remember. Due to grist of Pale and a little Crystal the wort was pale until the reduced wort was added. Will add a pic in the what's in the glass thread to give an idea of the colour.

Woohoo Bum your gunna love it. I still have fond memories my first extract the step in taste and flavour away from kits is so satisfying!

On ya mate

Chappo

I dunno. Not too keen on the style - and probably even less keen on my halfarsed version of it, but we shall see.

Actually more excited about putting down the next one - an IPA. Based on the Tom Cooper (we go way back) tin but I've got some Fuggles for extra bittering, I'll chuck in some crystal to sit under the extra IBU. A bit of reading has got me thinking I maybe should have gone with some EKG but I'm sure I'll muddle through somehow.

Thanks for that Screwtop. I have enough Bairds medium crystal left to have a go at your recipe. I will definitely try the 2 litre wort reduction. The one thing I will alter is the yeast as I still some wyeast 1469 on hand. It should go well in this beer. I'm looking forward to brewing this one.

Should be authentic using the 1469. Remember to get all of the wort in the kettle, then remove the wort to reduce before adding any hops.

30 mins into the mash of Warrens 3 shades of stout.

Since i made an early-ish start (gotta love flex days) seriously thinking about backing up with an imperial Landlord......

7.00 kg Pale Malt, Maris Otter (Thomas Fawcett) (5.9 EBC) Grain 83.82 %
1.00 kg Munich I (Weyermann) (14.0 EBC) Grain 11.56 %
0.40 kg Crystal, Medium (Bairds) (145.0 EBC) Grain 4.62 %
75.00 gm Northdown [6.90 %] (60 min) Hops 53.4 IBU
14.00 gm Styrian Goldings [4.60 %] (20 min) Hops 3.7 IBU
15.00 gm Goldings, East Kent [5.10 %] (20 min) Hops 4.8 IBU
15.00 gm Fuggles [3.90 %] (20 min) Hops 3.7 IBU
15.00 gm Fuggles [3.90 %] (10 min) Hops 2.2 IBU
14.00 gm Styrian Goldings [4.60 %] (10 min) Hops 2.2 IBU
20.00 gm Goldings, East Kent [5.10 %] (10 min) Hops 3.8 IBU
25.00 gm Goldings, East Kent [5.10 %] (0 min) Hops -
28.00 gm Styrian Goldings [4.60 %] (0 min) Hops -
25.00 gm Fuggles [3.90 %] (0 min) Hops
28.00 gm Styrian Goldings [4.70 %] (Dry Hop 14 days) Hops -
25.00 gm Goldings, East Kent [5.10 %] (Dry Hop 14 days) Hops -

20L
OG 1.079
IBU 77
EBC 26

As promise, my Pliny clone with a few things subbed due to ingredients...

5.5kg Perle
130g Cara-Red (sub for crystal 40L)
390g Cara-Pils
455 Cane Sugar - added to boil 15 mins
Mash hop : 42g Chinook
90: 70g Southern Cross (sub for warrior), 15g Columbus
45 : 28g Simcoe
30 : 28g Columbus
FO :64g Centennial, 28g Simcoe
Dry : 28g Columbus, 21g Centennial, 35g Simcoe

And good ol US-05 :icon_drool2: :icon_drool2: :icon_drool2: The krausen is green at the mo :icon_cheers:

Geared up for a batch of Rootin'Saison tonight :) , with my UXB and probably an Acerola Pale over the weekend (hangovers permitting). I hope the hefe finishes up soon, I need its fermenter!

Going to have a go at AndrewQLD St Louis Golden Lager this weekend, the only differance is i'm using Wyeast 2007 and not S189

Link to Andrews Lager

Hopefully this will be okay as a No Chill, unless i can get to a hardware store and buy another hose to connect to the chiller so i can run it back into the water tanks

Rook

Going to have a go at AndrewQLD St Louis Golden Lager this weekend, the only differance is i'm using Wyeast 2007 and not S189

Link to Andrews Lager

Hopefully this will be okay as a No Chill, unless i can get to a hardware store and buy another hose to connect to the chiller so i can run it back into the water tanks

Rook

don't use all of the hallertau rookie, think of ze germans :ph34r:

What malt are you going to use? The couple of times i've no chilled a lager i've got away with it most times without dms, however when I used the joe white pilsner malt it was noticeable.
Spose if you still want to no-chill maybe just extend your boil to 90 mins, to get rid of the precursor to dms.

Q

Status
Not open for further replies.