Want To Get Started With A Keg System

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kuzzy

Reaction score
Hi all, first post.

I have been bottling home brew since 1989 off and on and love it (just simple kits, mainly Morgans). However, I am now sick of bottles. Some questions I would like to ask:

1. Should I just buy a two keg set up (to get going) with a gun as per eBay and add as the system grows, or order the stuff individually?

2. I want a chest freezer, build a collar and then put taps through the collar. Ideal set up will be 4 taps and space for 6 kegs what size chest freezer will I need as a guide?

3. I have looked in the forum and notice that different beers need different gas pressure to pour (Draft verses Dark Ales etc), how do I do this / what do I need?

4. Most likely the same answer as Q3 what do I do / need to pour one keg and carbonate another at the same time?

Thanks in advance :icon_chickcheers:

Kuzzy

1 - Usually better to order the stuff individually. In fact check out craftbrewer's 4 keg special. Great value.
2 - If you want to put some kegs on the compressor hump (possible with a big enough collar), you'll need about a 220L minimum, but not all 220L models will fit 6 kegs. A 300L odd will typically handle 6 with ease, sometimes all of them on the floor, which gives you a bit of spare room on the compressor hump.
3 - I wouldn't worry about this at this stage. Do you prime your bottles differently at the moment depending on whether they're lagers or ales? In my opinion this isn't a big deal.