Using Hops For The First Time.. Help Needed...

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

aaronR

Reaction score
Hi guys,

I'm starting to venture into the great would of brewing a bit more and want to spice up a cascade pale ale can that i recieved as a birthday present.

i plan on using a tin of liquid malt and yeast to add to the kit and was thinking of adding some galaxy hops to try and achive a bit of a fruity flavour.

but as its my first time experimenting with hops and a more involved boil i am unsure of amounts and timing on when to add it.

is galaxy a good option? any feedback would be appreciated

cheers aaron :)

Hi guys,

I'm starting to venture into the great would of brewing a bit more and want to spice up a cascade pale ale can that i recieved as a birthday present.

i plan on using a tin of liquid malt and yeast to add to the kit and was thinking of adding some galaxy hops to try and achive a bit of a fruity flavour.

but as its my first time experimenting with hops and a more involved boil i am unsure of amounts and timing on when to add it.

is galaxy a good option? any feedback would be appreciated

cheers aaron :)

Galaxy is a good option. Given the Cascade is pre-hopped (therefore bitter enough), I'd recommend drawing out some made up wort (after you've put everything together, but before you yeasted it) - maybe 4-5L or whatever your saucepan will take. Boil 15g cascade in it for 10 minutes and add back to the wort.

This will be safe, without being OTT in taste or extra bitterness. I personally have chucked 20g in with Nelson Sauvin, Citra and Cascade (hops not kit) at 10 minutes just for a fruity ale, and that suits me, but might not suit you.

Get an idea of how that works (quantity) and adjust accordingly.