Toucan Virgin

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

slowlearner

Reaction score
It's time to have a crack.....planning a toucan using a COOPERS lager and a COOPERS stout to make a black'n'tan. As a self confessed newbie, I'm looking for the wisdom of those who have gone before me.
Other threads elsewhere suggest pitching one yeast, others suggest two. Some say use a bit of dex, which I assume will up the alc%. I'm all for a heavy but more interested in experimenting.....with flavour that is. get ya mind out of the gutter you FILTHY boy! :angry:
Am I right in assuming a kit with no dex, just yeast will produce 2.5%-3% if final volume is 23ltr.
If so, 2 kits should give 5%-6%? (thank you grade 4 maths. best 2 years of my life... :blink: )
Any other extracts readily available anyone can think of to add some interesting flavours???
Hops idea's???? Not real interested in lots of bitterness, more aroma than bitterness.
thanx in advance for any and all suggestions/advise. me + my unborn beer owe you a debt of gratitude not easily repaid.

Pitch both yeasts for sure.

You say "Not real interested in lots of bitterness"

Keep in mind that 1 can is designed to give a 23l batch a specific bitterness. If you pitch 2 cans in 23l you will get a relatively high bitterness level - as 2 cans was "designed" for 46 litres. This is not necessarily a bad thing if the resulting beer remains balanced, but something to keep in mind. If you don't want too high a bitterness level it maybe better to go to your LHBS and buy a can of unhopped malt extract and use that instead.

Using some recultured coopers yeast from a few stubbies will also improve this. See WIKI for instructions. A beer and liquid yeast in the same pack. You can't go wrong !!