Taking Gravity Readings

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cantoffie

Reaction score
Hey everyone. I am in the process of taking homebrewing a lot more seriously and part of this is to take gravity readings. Used to just 'go by feel' resulting in some nice beer fireworks when opening.

So I have been taking gravity readings for the last three brews that I have done. Its been working pretty well. But the "Infection" thread has got me scared about opening the fermenter... ever again.

So I now have some questions;

How often/at what intervals do you take gravity readings? (If it is worth mentioning I do a Primary fermentation then a secondary fermentation before bottling)

How do you do it without jeoprodicing the brew?

Any other useful tips or tricks for gravity readings?

Thanks!

Hi i am no expert as i just put on my first batch last Thursday but i was told to just take a sample out of the tap at the bottom of your fermenter and sit the hydrometer in the sample. You should do this at the start to get an sg and again once the airlock stops bubbling. You should have the same reading 2 days in a row (called fg) and that is when you no it is ready. This is what i have been told by the hbs and it is what i am doing. apart from the sg as i forgot about about that haha. i am also scared of the infection side of things i seam to be reading allot about it lately. Good luck.

i too just take a sample out of the tap at the bottom of my fermenter into my tube and sit the hydrometer in the sample, but I always run a bit off before collecting my sample so as not to be testing whats stale in the tap.