Solar hot water - still get large electricity bills, huh?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mr_wibble

Beer Odd
Reaction score
So a couple of years ago our old faithful, reliable hot water system rusted through.
We fount out, much to our disappointment, it was irreplaceable and we had to drop $6.5k on a solar system. Great.

Since then we're always running out of hot water in winter, and the hot tap-water is never quite hot enough. *sigh*.

But the latest stinker: Hot water electricity costs for mid-winter: $850, Hot water costs for mid-summer: $550 (off peak booster rates)

W-T-F!

How can this be? Yes the booster is on, but the guys from the solar company said it was all automatic, and if it wasn't needed it would not even turn on.

Do you think the solar doo-hickey is broken?
Or is this normal?

As a former plumber, I would love to *hear what you got for 6.5k..

*here...*

Last edited:
Dave, no change from 6.5k for a solarhart black chrome12 in the west, ours just $hit itself, again...

Mr Wibble I'd check the glycol thermo syphon if its a jacketed system, that don't sound right, we are looking at a heat pump but they are b* expensive for a good one...

Christ..
Could have got a decent 5kw solar set up for that coin.

We pay 9/10 of f-all for our hot water on solar. Our system is 20+years old (needs replacing). Definitely going solar again for the new system. Maybe even solar boosted heat pump if the budget will stretch.

It sounds like your solar isn't heating with solar but relying on the booster. The thermosyphon could be wrongly installed. We had ours serviced a while back and couldn't work out why our bills were suddenly higher. Turns out the numpty who serviced it ifitted an o ring wrong and stopped the syphon from syphoning.