Soda Stream

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

joebejeckel

Reaction score
Before i go and do something silly and possibly bust my kids brand new soda stream, is it possible that it might work to force carb a beer, would be great when making a brew and trying it out before the final hops or such are done?, has anyone tried one?im fascinated and busting to ty

joe :lol:

Keep a cloth and Spray n Wipe handy.

Keep SWMBO out of the room too.

You'll do no damage to the machine.

[EDIT: realise the above is a little ambiguous. Don't to it, Joe.]

Dont bust it Joe...
I will give you an old one if you want ..But i am in Nowra..
Too expensive for force carb..Dispence O.K......
I am new to the kegging i have my kegs Naturally carbing..and i am going to
play around with SS....I have a Reg.fitted to one.....
I also have a 5Kg. Bottle...
Cheers
PJ

I'm guessing you're talking about using the sodastream machine itself...
Well it will work.. but just like using it with pre-syrup'd water.. expect a fizzy mess to come out of the bottle when you unhook it.

I'm guessing you're talking about using the sodastream machine itself...
Well it will work.. but just like using it with pre-syrup'd water.. expect a fizzy mess to come out of the bottle when you unhook it.
Yep,

I'm pretty sure that's what Joe's itchin' to try.

Back in the day we used it to recarb flat store bought coke etc with our sodastream (among other things)...

You have to hit it with the 3 quick depressions in quick succession and get it out fast and have your jug or big glass ready.

If it's like the one we had, it has a bayonet type screw-in bottle that can become stuck during said procedure...this will result in kitchen being covered in beer....perhaps try outside.

I never did try it with beer so let us know how it goes.

PB