Smoked Malt In A Scotch Ale

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kevin_smevin

Reaction score
Hi all.

I going to brew a scotch ale/wee heavy and want so have a subtle smoke flavour/aroma. I want to be able to detect it without having to look too hard for it but definitely want it to be a background flavour. I was planning to use Weyerman smoked malt which i have never used before. Anyone had any experience with this malt and have any idea how much to use to achieve the flavour i'm after in a 25L batch.

Cheers

YYY - theres a couple of scottish ale threads with answers to this question. cant remember the general concensus, but ive used 300g of peat smoked in a 21L batch of scotish heavy and it came out nicely., it can be overpowering and mine was a scottish heavy (~11%), so if you doing a lighter version you might want to only use 200g or so.

Ask Doc, he made an awesome scotch ale a couple of years back. I'm pretty sure it was peated malt.

Technically speaking, scottish ales aren't supposed to have smoked malts added (see the BJCP notes)

That out of the way, if you like a smoky flavour / aroma, you have two options.

1. Rauchmalt - smoked malt that must be mashed (sub for ale malt). I've used up to 60% to get a healthy smoke flavour and aroma (though the aroma dulled as the bottles aged). For subtle background think 30% and don't go overboard on hop bitterness.

2. Peated Malt - not made for beer makers but adds a smoky kick. Use sparingly (strong stuff). I'd ignore acquiring / using this stuff on your first effort unless an expert gives you precise measurements.