Recipe and method check please.

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

brzt6060

Reaction score
I have started planning my next beer and would like some opinions on the recipe and method, this will be the furthest I have stepped from kit and kilo.
I'm not sure if I'm being over zealous for my 3rd brew.
I'm also aiming not to have to use a secondary but if you more expert home brewers feel the beer would benefit from it then I guess its better to learn to do it now rather than later.

I'm aiming to create a tangy but crisp beer with a zesty / fruity aroma.

Extract:
I'm think either "Coopers Australian Pale Ale" or "Coopers Canadian Blond" or "MSB Summer Wheat Beer".
Plus
1 can of coopers light liquid malt extract unhoped.

I have never tried steeping grains before but I'm think 500g of malted oats steeped in 2l of water about 70c for 60 minutes and then sparged with 1l of 70c water.
Followed by a 60 Minute boil with the following additions:
60 Minute 20g Hallertau Pellets
5 Minute 50g freshly zested orange or mandarin peel, being careful not to collect any of the white part.
0 Minute 10g Amarillo
0 Minute 10g Galaxy

After 4 to 5 days of fermentation add the following:
50g freshly zested orange or mandarin peel, being careful not to collect any of the white part.
12g crushed coriander seed.
Ferment for a further 4 to 6 days (until the FG is stable) before cold crashing and adding finings.

Yeast: Either S-04 or Safbrew T-58 or S-33

I have punched most of this into the spreadsheet and it looks good but I can't figure out how to added orange zest or coriander seed...

hey pal. sounds like you are going along the lines for a belgian wit.