Question about Coopers IPA kit and Citra/Amarillo hop addition

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

soma5eeker

Reaction score
Hi everyone, this is my first post. Thanks for reading.

I'm new to homebrewing and have so far only prepared about a half dozen kit extract brews (all Coopers). I've done the IPA kit several times and have had the most success with it. This time around I'd like to bolster the profile a bit by adding some hops.

I have 90g of both Citra and Amarillo hops, what I'd like is suggestions as to how I could add these and in what quantity. My basic plan was to add 30g of one of the hops when heating the 500g of light dry malt and 300g of dextrose (maybe up to 600g to up the final alcohol volume a little), in 2L of water (as suggested by the kit). Then I figured I'd dry-hop the brew with 30g of the other hop after the krausen subsides (from experience with this kit that will be after around 3 to 4 days). I'd then allow the brew to finish fermenting, leave for an additional day or two and then bottle with priming drops.

I would appreciate suggestions regarding;
- quantity
- which hop should be used initially and which as the dry-hop
- any other relevant suggestions that don't involve additional components

I have a thermostat controlled brewing fridge and intend to pitch and brew at 18 degrees celcius.

Thanks very much for any advice you can provide!

What are you aiming to get out of your hops? More flavour or bitterness, I'm assuming that you want aroma seeing as you are going to dry hop.

I'd be using Amarillo for the boil and the citra for the dry hop ( citra is regarded as a great hop for this)

Generally you want to work off a 1.040 gravity for your boil if you are adding in some hops, the easiest way to get this is by adding 100g of your coopers tin per 1ltr of water.