Promash Queries

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lobo

Reaction score
hi all, if you dont alreday know, i am new to allgrain brewing, having brewed partials for 18months.

for my 2nd ag i would like to make a copy of the 'coopers pale clone' recipe, for the old man, as he says every time he tastes one of my brews, 'yeah, its nice, but it dosnt taste as good as this, why cant you brew this?'

anyway, its only calling for about 3kgs of pilsner malt etc, and i cant get promash to make any sense to me, i have vista, and cant use the help option, and none of the patches i download work.

what is the usual rate that you sparge with? you mash with around 3l/kg, and lose 1l to the grain, so thats roughly 6l from the mash, then say you sparge with 3l/kg, that only gives you 15l boil vol. then you lose to evaporation, kettle deadspace, (mine is 5l ATM, which i must change) and it dosnt give me much beer, so what do i do? double the batch? dilute, then what type of sg wil i get. i would like to get the fg as low as possible, so i dont want too high og.

any advice from the experience out there?

cheers, Lobo