Plastic Smell/taste From Cubes?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jaup

Reaction score
Hi,

I was going to rack my gluten free brew into a 25 liter water cube. Does any one have any ideas how to get the smell out of the cubes first? As i figure this will taint the flavor of the brew.

If i soak it in a sterilizing solution will that help and if so how long can i soak for?

Thanks,
Paul

im not an expert at this at all dont even own one but i think they put boiling hot water in them first to get rid of it

I just bought one too on the weekend.

Others posts here have used bleach, then hot water, then more hot water.

Keep soaking (an hour or so should be fine), then flush, then continue the process until all off flavours are gone.

2c.

You have 2 options that i know of,

1. Leave it out in the sun for a couple of days. The UV helps leech out the plastic smell.

2. Fill with water and add 1gm/L of Drain-O

I had a fermenter that had a bad plastic smell and i went for the Drain-O treatment first, it worked but the smell was still there so i put it in the sun for a week and that really help get rid of the smell. I was still worried as it still smelled of plastic when i first used it but after the first batch the smell was gone and the beer was good.

Good Luck

Lachlan

:ph34r: Flame suit on...

I noticed a plastic smell when I got my first cube, didnt think anything of it and no chilled in it without doing the boiling water or sitting in the sun thing, beer turned out absolutely fine, no more plastic smell, no worries :beerbang:

for me, a couple of days in the sun, then rinsed, then hot water to fill. When cold, rinse again, then sanatise and use as normal.

:ph34r: Flame suit on...