Ok I Have To Ask, What Is No Chill?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Cooling ASAP is basically what I do, but rather than put the jerry in my beer fridge I let it cool for a few hours first. The reason I do this is that I don't want to 'stress' the fridge. However I'm no fridge mechanic so maybe someone with fridge mech. experience might like to comment.

1. Is putting a jerry of near boiling liquid in the fridge likely to overwork the fridge in some way?
  2. Or doesn't the fridge give a stuff ?
If 2 then that's what I'll be doing. From comments on the other threads that are also covering this issue, particularly by Thirsty Boy, the damage is done when very hot wort continues to isomerise hop alpha acids that are in the cube. So the quicker you get the temp down in the cube, the more accurate the hop 'result' will be, as aimed at in your recipe.

Ok so I didnt read the whole of this thread but I pose this question...

If I taking the boiled wort out of my kettle and place in a blue willow jerry can and then place in fridge straight away (set to 4 degs), would this be a viable way to cool ht wort ???

Or should I put in a cube/jerry and squeeze all the air out etc or use a a chiller.

Anyway I'm sure someone has tried it.

Cheers, Pok

Hi Pok,

No sorry - you are not 'no chilling'. You have described the perfect way to make an infected beer.

You need all interior surfaces of your cube to get to a minimum of 70 degrees and then stay there for at least 15 minutes.

In other words you are making 'wort jam'.

Google up 'hot canning' for more info.

Dave

Hi Pok,

No sorry - you are not 'no chilling'. You have described the perfect way to make an infected beer.

You need all interior surfaces of your cube to get to a minimum of 70 degrees and then stay there for at least 15 minutes.