Off Taste (minty?)

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

qpoint

Reaction score
Hi all!

Not that far away from bottling/racking into secondary ferment (haven't decided which yet) an IPA style brew. Just did a SG reading and had a taste test and encountered a weird flavour.

So for the sake of providing enough information, the recipe is:
Coopers heritage IPA kit.
Coopers Light LDME
500g light crystal steeped
250g DME
40g fuggles - (20g @ 40 mins, 15g @ 20 mins, 5g @ 5 mins)
OG: 1057
what appears to be FG: 1012

So this is the 8th day of ferment and I'm about to rack into a secondary or bottle it. Had a taste test and it was definitely the best I've brewed seeing as it's my first attempt at a proper specialty steeping and hop schedule... but then the aftertaste hit me.

I guess the only way I can describe it is that sort of cooling feeling at the back of your throat you get with a strong chewwy or mouthwash. I tasted it about half an hour ago and i can still feel it every time I breathe in.

I'm wondering if it's due to high ferment temps... pitched the yeast at 28C and when I looked at it the next morning it hadn't cooled down like I'd hoped. Put a wet towel and fan on it and got it down to 21 but in the last couple of days it's shot up to around 25, although the ferment appears to have finished.

Anyway, I'm off to drink something to get rid of the aftertaste, any help would be appreciated... trying to build skills by working out the different flavour components, both good and bad B)

Hi ,
not sure what your off-flavour is, but if fermented that warm, could it be "hot" or fusel alcohol off-flavours?
that it's not actually minty but a hot alcohol kind of aftertaste?

What was the yeast?

Bjorn

scando your good!
at stating what!
more on good stuff!

scando your good!
at stating what!
more on good stuff!