Obtaining That Drier Taste

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

durgarth

Reaction score
Hi all,

I have been brewing AG for a couple of months (up to my 9th AG brew and loving it). After much research I decided to go with a BIAB type system (thanks to Thirstyboy's postings on this forum) to start and I will probably upgrade over the next couple of months to a three vessel system. Currently I use an old Malley copper boiler (50 litre) and a Rambo type 3 ring burner. Anyway that's just background information not what I'm after.

All the beers I have made have had a 60- 70 minute mash time at around 68 degrees. The brew (whilst sensational in comparison) is a little "sweet" for my liking and I'm wondering if it has to do with my temperature and mash time. I suppose I'm after a drier finish on the beer. Which then I suppose leads to the "style" of beer you are producing......anyway I mainly do APA's with a few English Bitters thrown in.

Any help or advice greatly appreciated.

Steve

It does have a lot to do with your mash temperature. Drop it to 63-64 for a drier-finishing beer.

Get the FGs lower. Mash lower, aeration of wort, large healthy yeast pitching.

Another take could be to up your IBU if you don't want a decrease in body.

Then you could move onto ingredients chosen.

I used to mash at 67 all the time when i started and got sweeter fuller beers.

I shifted to lower temp mashes after being advised on here and the old Grumpys forum (before we all came here :))

I now mash all my normal drinking pale ales ect at around 64 to 65 deg for a drer finish and it works. I dont find the beers to be thinner, but the yeast will attenuate more, hence less sweetness.

Alsi i had to drop my OG's down a couple of points because you get more alcahol of course.