Newby Questions

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bonenose

Reaction score
Hi guys, couple of questions on hops. Complete newby to brewing of any kind so be gentle. Going straight into all grain for better or worse, have done a lot of reading over the last week or so but still a hell of a lot to learn.

Anyway question one, to start will probably stick to pellet hops to keep things simple (and because it is all I can buy locally) so when using recipes with hops flowers can I simply substitute the same amount of pellets. I assume results may not be as good but can live with that for the present, and having never brewed them before will not know the difference anyway.

Second question, for hops that are 0 minutes boil in the recipe should I be adding these right at flame out or when cooling and if so at what sort of temp?

Cheers

Welcome Bonenose. When I use my homegrown flowers I normally at least double the amount I use, so if the recipe says 50g I throw in 100-125g. You might get the AA% from the seller then you have more of an idea. And yeah 0 minutes is at flameout.

Mate add hop pellets at the same rate as flowers. Fresh or wet flowers are a different story but all the recipes you see will be for pellets or dry flowers. Dont worry, while there is a little bit of difference, the great majority of brews are with pellets- nothing wrong at all with them.

Good on you going all grain straight up. There is a lot more worki nvolved but the results are worth it. Ensure that extra work isn't undone at ferment. Be meticulous with sanitation and ferment under temp control- these are the 2 main factors that will ruin a beer regardless of the quality of the wort if not done properly.

Couple more questions on dry hopping, bit confused as to how one goes about dry hopping.