Newbie question - replacing dextrose/sugars with caramalt

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Stevo the Devo

Reaction score
Erm, my first post is a cry for help lol. I am new to this home brew kegging scene but a mate gave me a tin of mangrove jacks belgian ale and a morgans caramalt. Well come Sunday I boiled it up with some light crystal grain and mangrove jacks belgian ale yeast and put it down.

Now, two days later, the complete lack any fermentation action clues me that the caramalt aint a substitute for dextrose or any other sugars! Im sure its going to be funny in a few years time but its pretty embarrassing right now!

My question though is whether its possible or advisable to to crack the lid now and put some dextrose mix in, and if so what would be a good mix?

Feel free to have a laugh, I'm laughing at myself right now :)

I wouldn't worry too much about using the Morgans caramalt instead of dex - the resulting beer will be darker and a bit sweeter than the originally planned one, but it'll still be beer (albeit probably a lower ABV one), and it'll still taste nice if you ferment it well/in a controlled manner.
I wouldn't be faffing around with opening it and adding dex now, just let it ride out, and take it as a lesson learned as you drink it later!

The apparent lack of fermentation is likely due to a completely different factor (both tins that you added have plenty of sugars for the yeast to munch away at, so it should be ok).
Let's go through a list:
1) What temperature was the wort at when you added the yeast?
2) Did you rehydrate the yeast?
3) What temperature have you got the fermenter at now?