New to Kegging

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gregos

Reaction score
Hi Guys,

I've been bottling for many years, and now have taken the plunge and set myself up to keg. I'm about to keg my first brews, and I'm looking for some advice on how to best condition/carb/store in a keg.
To date I have fermented, dry hopped and cold crashed my beer and now about to keg it and condition it.

Looking for some sound advice on what to do and what not to do.

Thanks in advance to replies
Grego

G day grego

im also relatively new to kegging (poured about a doz kegs so far).
I rotate 3 kegs through my fridge & therefore have time for 2 to cond and carb while i drink the other.

I went for a balanced system, so carbing & serving at the same temp. If you have the time I think this is most reliable & predictable way to go.

My beers are usually primary fv only, then cold crash then into keg. Usually first half glass is cloudy.
Once kegged beer remains chilled.
josh.

Hi Josh,

How do you carb? and how long do you let the kegs condition?

Grego

I do exactly what Josh does. FV for a couple of weeks & cold condition the FV for 1 week @ 1degC.
Transfer to waiting sanitized keg, set reg to 75kpa, burp it a few times to make sure the headspace is saturatedwith Co2 & leave @ serving pressure in the fridge.
This is where it get's a bit challenging. The regulated pressure you want will depend on a few things & it can be a little trial & error.
My setup has 4 x Andale Floryte taps, 2.5m of 5mm JG beer line & my reg is @ 75kpa. This gives me around 2.4, 2.5 vol/Co2.
Your beer temp plays a part in that as well & my fridge is set @ 2degC.
You may wish to start with 3m of beer line & see if that works for you. It's pretty easy then to trim it back till you are happy with the pour & your taps.