New To Ibus

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

reVoxAHB

Reaction score
Hey gang,

As the topic title suggests, I'm new to determining hop IBUs in a recipe; would appreciate guidance with an upcoming brew planned for the weekend.

I'll be brewing the Stone (American) IPA: Rate Beer review here and Beer Advocate review here. Stone Brewing Company website here

The recipe I've dug up, which seems pretty spot on calls for:

Hops:

Amount Name Form Alpha IBU Boil Time
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
3.37 oz. (95.54g) Yakima Magnum Pellet 13.50 215.5 90 min.
1.50 oz. (42.52g) Centennial Pellet 9.00 0.0 0 min.
2.50 oz. (70.87g) Centennial Pellet 9.40 0.0 Dry Hop
*full ProMash Recipe Report follows the post.

Now, as I'm not able to source Magnum or Centennial pellets here in Aus, Belgrave Brewer suggested I substitute:

Yakima Magnum Pellet 13.50AA (sub with) Northern Brewer 9.5AA
Centennial Pellet 9.0AA (sub with) Cascade 6.7AA

Maths:
I found the AHB Hops Calc whereby I plugged in a 1 unit AA conversion for Magnum to NB=
1 units of hops with an alpha acid strength of 13.50 is equal to 1.421 units of hops with an alpha acid strength of 9.5.

Does this mean I use the following maths:
95.54g (Mag) X 1.421 = 135.76g (NB) to be used 90 min.
42.52g (Cent) X 1.343 = 57.10g (Cas) to be used 0 min.
70.87g (Cent) X 1.343 = 95.17g (Cas) Dry Hop
?

Other:
Found on the net: "FWIW, I picked up a Stone IPA coaster at a bar last month, and it lists the hops as Magnum, Centennial and Chinook to arrive at 77 IBU."

Is there such a thing as Starting and Arriving IBU?

In ProMash, I used the Hop IBU Calculator selecting Magnum with 13.50AA, 95.54g, 23.0L Boiled Wort, SG1.079, 90 Minute Boil, Form: Pellet and it's showing IBUs of 177.13 (and that's just the magnum).