Negra Modela Clone Grain Questions

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

aussiechucka

Reaction score
I am new to doing extract with grain. But would like to try a recipe I found on hbd.org for Negra Modelo. It is a Mexican dark beer, not crap like corona. This is available here for $30 for a six pack. Since I have been brewing for a few years now with kit beers, I would like to take the next step into partials.

The recipe by Evstakiev's Pivo

Grain: 0.23kg German Vienna
170g American crystal 60L
57g American chocolate
(Steep 60L Crystal Malt, German Vienna malt, and Chocolate malt at 65.5C for 20 minutes)

1.50kg Light malt extract
1.36kg Light dry malt extract

28.4g Hallertauer Hersbrucker (5% AA, 60 min.)
28.4g Tettnanger (4.5% AA, 60 min.)
14.2g Tettnanger (4.5% AA, 10 min.)

Wyeast 2124 Bohemian lager yeast or Wyeast 2206 Bavarian lager yeast

Has anybody got any suggestions of what equivalent grains we have in Oz and where they would be available.
Is there a website that has the conversions for American grain names to Australian grain names
Cheers
Aussiechucka

Your profile/info does not mention where you live, so its hard to know which of the site Sponsors website's to send you to.

However in this case there is no need for 'equivalent grains', so just click on the Sponsors link(s) above or simply tell your LHB guy what you need (assuming they stock specialty grains).
Vienna is Vienna, Weyermann is German and should be available most places.
Crystal 60L is Crystal 60L, Bairds (UK) (~60L) or JW (Aust) (~70L) and maybe others should be available most places.
Chocolate is Chocolate, again Bairds (UK) or JW (Aust) and maybe others should be available most places.