Need Soem Help Finding Equipment

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rh1an5

Reaction score
Hi guys, im new to this whole homebrew thing, i have purchased a basic Morgans homebrew kit and brewed my 1st batch (not great, but drinkable). I learnt a lot from teh 1st brew- especially about rinsing after sanitising, as well as temperatures etc.

So i started my 2nd brew this week, more adventurous, i decided to make a redback style, i really want to get away from the basic can brew as fast as possible and this allowed me to experiment with hops and malt extract. Whilst this is only my 2nd brew im looking at investing a bit of money into the whole venture as i can already see the savings and nothing beats drinking your own beer.,

but back on track, im looking for some food grade plastic tube/hose and a few more fermenters (for racking etc). Does anyone know a good place to source this stuff on the gold coast?

Whilst i love the local brew shop they want approx $50 for another fermenter, which seems a bit steep considering you can get complete kits at coels and wooleys/safeway for the same dollars.

Would water drums from the local camping shop be ok? i have heard they are not food grade.

anyway thanks in advance as im sure someone here can help me.

rhian

Would water drums from the local camping shop be ok? i have heard they are not food grade.

Yep. I've been using $13 water drums from Bunnings for over a year now alongside the 'official' fermenters, and I'm still around to post an answer to your question. You might have to drill your own hole if you want to have an airlock, but I'm told Glad Wrap over the top with an elastic band to keep it on tight works just as well.

You can get a 25L water drums from bunnings for quite cheap, as well as pvc tubing. It shouldn't cost you much more than $20