My Kegs Arrived

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

francismcphail

Reaction score
My eBay kegs arrived this morning. So I unpacked and began the lovely job of cleaning.

One keg was relatively clean, and just needed a good rinse out, a and a soak in bleach, the other was a mess and had about an inch of crud in the bottom. (But I did buy non reconditioned kegs.)

Now I'm a complete noobie when it comes to kegs so go easy with me. :unsure:

I've noticed that once full if seal and tip the kegs on there sides they leak from the centre seal. I'm assuming I need a new seal kit for this?

On the side of one of them is a small (about 10 mm in length) amount of surface rust which hasn't gone very far. Now I've bought a metal sealant before for a rusty gutter when we were painting the outside of our house. Should I be grinding/filing/sanding back the rust and applying some sort of like material to inhibit further rusting? (The ruse is only small and only in one spot.)

One of the kegs is a Firestone, and the other is a well Madison 7Up and Co

Keg_1.jpg

Keg_2.jpg

Keg_3.jpg

Scrub the rust off with a scouring pad and rub a mix of vinegar and bicarb soda into the area...problem solved :super:

As for the leaks, yeah replace all the seals/o-rings.

PZ.

Probably a good idea to remove the posts, clean them and replace all the seals.

The keg will leak until you gas it up, forcing the lid upwards to compress the seal and become airtight.

When did you order these kegs. I ordered 4 on 4/8/06, thats 14 weeks ago, im getting a little worried they might have fallen off the ship and become a floating ice berg

Mine came from QLD... Though I have a feeling the person who is selling them off eBay from QLD is buying them in from the US, and sort of reselling...