My Kegged Beer Loses Carbonation After 1 Beer

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bjl

Reaction score
I am new to kegging and are having trouble keeping my beer carbonated. I have tried several methods as described on these forums.
Basically, my beer loses its carbonation after one beer? The first beer is perfect, nice head and enough bubbles but after 2 or 3 there is basically no bubbles in the beer. The beer temp is controlled at 2deg C. Is this just a case of under carbonation or could it be a result of a slow leak in the system somewhere? Also, is it advisable to diconnect the beer line from the keg when you are not using it.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Also, is it advisable to diconnect the beer line from the keg when you are not using it.

Basically No. The disconnect and tap should seal perfectly and there should be no need to disconnect.

Pok

When you pour your beer do you leave the gas on at a pouring pressure on do you turn the tap off. You should not notice carbonation problems after such a small amount of beers being poured. Try putting a bit more gas in it and see if this helps. I dont think it could do much wrong.

A keg will take a few days to lose carbonation so thats not happening. Heres my thoughts...

The first glass has a good head because the tap is warm and causes to beer to foam, this always happens on the first pour and once the tap has chilled the resultant pours will be less foamy.

A dirty/warm/dry glass will cause bubbles to form due to nucleation points etc, after the first beer the glass will be cool and cleaner. Try swishing it around in your mouth to release some bubbles.

Also how long has it been in the keg for and are you sure its carbed up correctly?

If you carbonbate your beer correctly there is no reason why your second or third glass should pour flat.