Lager Yeasts

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

quigley

Reaction score
Hi folks...

Saflager S-23 or w-34/70?

Can anyone suggest the better yeast for me to make a european style lager with?

On a slightly different yeast related matter........ I have a lot of kit yeasts, from Black Rock, Muntons Gold, Coopers etc...... Should I throw these out, or use them just to get rid of them? I have never used the kit yeast before... always been US-56 Ale yeasts... so why should I just go on collecting the kit yeasts??

Thanks
Mike :beer:

You can use up your kit yeasts in some biscuits for the dog, supposedly keeps the fleas away ;)

W34/70 is a good lager yeast, i think it's better than S-23 but people say they've got good results from it, then others say S-189 leaves both of them for dead

W34/70 is used in a lot of Euro beers, both dry and in liquid form. The "W" is from Weihenstephan University, where there is a brew school and they have a great yeast bank.

I find S23 a little fruity, but didn't give it a second go after the fruitiness I got the first time.

I assume you're talking about using dry lager yeasts.
If you want liquid yeast, you might be able to talk with a local brewery, or homebrewer/yeast rancher.

Seth :p

You can use up your kit yeasts in some biscuits for the dog, supposedly keeps the fleas away ;)

On topic, i like the 34/70, but i have got a pack of CraftBrewer - Swiss Lager that i have not had a chance to use yet, good for Pils apparently.

Sorry to hijack, but DJR that is a great idea. Do you have a recipe?

Cheers
DK

Sorry to hijack, but DJR that is a great idea. Do you have a recipe?

Try this ( from http://gourmetsleuth.com/recipe_dogbiscuit.htm )

Makes about 5 dozen bone biscuits
1 cup flour
1/4 cup wheat germ
1/4 cup brewers yeast (available at health-food stores)