Know thy malts! Or not ...

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lord Ester

Reaction score
Hi guys.

I'm new to brewing, and at present am only brewing extracts with some hop and LDME additions.

However, I have acquired some grains with the intention of doing some steeps in my coming brews. I sourced them from a brewing supplier who was selling up, and got a small quantity very cheaply.

Some of what I got was Joe White crystal malt. I asked the seller if he had any crystal malts suitable for using in an Irish red ale. He told me he had two JW crystal malts that would work for that. He sent me what I ordered, but never clarified which of the JW crystal malts it actually was. Several times I pursued him for a data sheet or anything about the malt. No reply, sadly.

So I know nothing except that it's a JW crystal malt suitable for an Irish red.

Is there any way to tell which crystal malt it is? Looking at some pics and based on the fact he said it was suitable for a red ale, I was thinking it was probably a 60l, 80l or 120l. But I am a total novice, so don't really know.

I've attached a few photos … haven't opened any of the bags, but the vacuum packing seems to have loosened up anyway.

Any wisdom appreciated!

P1080040.JPG

P1080049.JPG

No idea mate.
Crush and use, then choose a better shop - one with some idea of what they are selling.

From memory there is only two JW crystals available in the lists I look at.

A light and a dark.

http://bintani.com.au/brewing?MaltType=&colour=&malt=true&region=