It's my first time. Be gentle.

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

parlo

Reaction score
[emoji2] just finished mixing up my first brew. Hoegaarden pre mix with a kit from Malthouse home brew in Perth. Been meaning to do this (brew my own beer) for so long. And have stalked this place (website/ app) for a while however still feel I stuffed up a bit this time around. My temp was 26 degrees when I added the yeast. Urgh. However I have a great spot under the stairs and the temp is already dropping. Anyway. My favourite beers are hoegaarden, lefe blond and saison DuPont so I am hoping to be able to produce my own beers in this style in the future. However baby steps. One wants to crawl before one walks then runs. Happy New Years.

Welcome aboard Parlo,
...there's still time to abandon this madness and lead a "normal" life, another brew or 2 and you'll be hooked!!
Cheers,
Happy New Year

Any idea what the yeast strain is? For most yeasts that pitching temp is way too high, but saison and farmhouse yeasts are often exceptions, and Saison Dupont is actually fermented well above your 26.

Day-night temperature variation is a problem with many yeast strains. Some,especially British strains, drop out too soon.on cool nights. Most Belgian strains do not have that problem because they re slow to flocculate, but are prone to sticking when cooled.

Recommendations: monitor sp gravity, no worries, and when you're done, enjoy while researching yeast strains. Some day soon you'll want temperature control.

ImageUploadedByAussie Home Brewer1451548690.457788.jpg

This is the yeast i used. Yep. Can with the packet. My question. At such a high pitching temp will my beer still be drinkable. Next time I will be getting some bags of ice. Lesson learned.