Is This Possible?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Finite

All Grain Gremlin
Reaction score
Hey guys,

Well some of you may already know but im a 3rd year uni student at CSU Wagga Wagga. Im at home at the moment in sydney but since making my first HB im itching to make this wheat beer ive been planing.

I dont leave for uni for another 2 weeks so i was wondering if its possible to boil, mix, up the wort for the beer (eg. everything except pitching the yeast). Then bottling the wort in a large plastic jug. That way when i get to uni i can just add water and pitch the yeast? is this possible? cause i cant transport the primary obviously, and it saves me trashing the cottage kitchen :)

Otherwise i gota wait two weeks :-(

I think you are just asking for trouble... By the sounds of it your brewing gear is at uni? If not just brew it now, a wheat beer will be ready to bottle in 2 weeks or just transfer is to a jerrican (secondary) and then take it to uni and bottle.

Take a few deep breaths and relax after the first brew :D nah, stay up till midnight reading about wheat beers :lol:

umm, couldnt you have it bottled in 2 weeks...?
it's a wheat beer so clarity shouldnt be of concern.

My brewing stuff is here at home. I dont think I will have the ingredients by then though if i have to order some stuff from the net.

Finite,

If you use my extract recipe, I have made a wheat beer, from kettle to gullet in 10 days. It was bottled and primed at 7-8 days. Carbonated and ready to drink on the 10th day. Short schedule for Superbowl, last year.

For lighter transport weigt, bottle in 2 litre softdrink bottles. Seal well, and distribute throughout your luggage.

Cheerz.

Seth

Well if you need to order... i'd get to ordering and hope for the best.