Hops In Coopers Kits

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

syd_03

Reaction score
Hi I am new to the homebrew scene; I got my homebrew kit in late January and have since only done three brews.
My first kit was a disaster, I tried a lager kit in March with no way to keep cool, and that one went down the sink.
Next was an apple cider kit for the GF, it went ok, but lacked flavour and sweetness for her desire.
Last was another lager same as first batch but was able to keep cool with water bath and frozen water bottles. It turned out quite well I think for my third brew and even got praise from a friend who has done home brewing for a few years.

I have purchased some Coopers kits and LME to put down my next two brews.

First is a Coopers Pale Ale and second is a Coopers Bavarian Lager. I want to keep fairly simple still as I am very new to this so was wanting to add just 1 KG of LME to the kits and some finishing hops for aroma.
I was wondering if anyone knows the hops varieties used in the Coopers range of kits and the form present: I.e. isohop (or hop extract) or if whole hops are used and still present in the kit?

I did email Coopers and got the following response:

Hello Jason. Sorry, we don't publish that data. I can tell you we use POR for bittering in all of our brews (except Cerveza which uses no bittering hops) and at the moment we use Saaz, Hallertauer and Cascade extracts in various brews.

Cheers, Frank.

Frank Akers
Home Brew Advice
Coopers Brewery
461 South Road
Regency Park
SA 5010

Ph: 08 8440 1800

From this I am assuming that all kits use a Pride of Ringwood hop for bittering except the Cerveza which uses an isohop extract.
The Pale Ale would have Cascade extract for flavour and aroma and the Bavarian Lager would have Hallertau extract.
Does this seem correct?