Hop Additions - Potential Schedules & Resulting Beer Profiles?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

piraterum

Reaction score
I'm quite new to the world of hops schedules and was wondering how best to determine an appropriate hop schedule for a particular type of beer.

From what I have gathered
1. 60min boil is good for bittering
2. Late additions (20-0min) additions are good for flavouring/aroma,
3. Dry hopping is good for aroma.

There are a couple of good links on the topic:

http://www.aussiehomebrewer.com/forum/inde...+schedule\

http://www.brewsupplies.com/hop_characteristics.htm

I'm looking to make a pilsner with an IBU around 35.

I'm toying up what would be an appropriate hop schedule to give an appropriate flavour and aroma. Using the charts from the link above and the reciper maker in Beersmith i'm thinking..

27g 7.60% AA Northern Brewer (60min) - bittering
30g 4.0%AA Saaz (40min) - bittering
30g 4.0%AA Saaz (20min) - flavour
15g 4.0%AA Saaz (7min) - aroma

Batch size = 22L
Boil size = 7.85L
Boil Time = 60min
Brewhouse efficiency = 65%
Est OG = 1.052
Est FG = 1.013
Est Colour = 11.6 EBC
Est IBU = 35.3
Bitterness ratio = 0.684 IBU/SG

Reckon this schedule is appropriate for a pils? Should I add more to flavour and aroma additions?

It would be good if there was a scale for hop flavour & hop aroma contributed calculated for each type of hop :)

Drop the NB and go the saaaaaaz all the way :icon_drool2: with three additions, 60, 15 and 0 mins

Drop the NB and go the saaaaaaz all the way :icon_drool2: with three additions, 60, 15 and 0 mins

I've always wondered about bittering hops.....given most of the flavour is boiled way during the 60 min boil, does it really matter what bittering hop you use?