Hi from Newcastle

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

linny

Reaction score
Hey my name is Linny some may have seen me on other forums, I'm actually doing this back to front... I started brewing about 2 years ago but it was the darker side of brewing with stillin. Started with sugar washes and then moved onto AG mashes even though ive been a member here for 6 months ive been using your site to learn about mashing and mash tuns. Alot of people at my work brew beer so i thought i would have a crack at it.... Figured it would be easier .... but i was SO SO SO WRONG !

1st batch i did in 330ml stubbies was a ginger beer... forgot to clean caps and 3/4 of it got infected so i cracked the shits and threw the stubbies = fail
2nd batch was a Coopers Cerveza with tallies but got the bulk prime figure wrong and its basically a flat beer = fail
3rd batch was a AG fatyak which was a success , but still need to play around with the flavour hops .... i think i short cut my self on the hops since the bitterness is a bit over the top ( a little )

I dont really drink that much beer but the craft of mashing interests me alot , thinking that it can also help my AG mashes for the darker arts...

I started with BIAB in a Big W 20L pot with a false bottom , then i build my new BIAB mash tun. It actually works really well its a 2400w element with a PID controller , SSR and a 5amp DC pwr supply with a small pump for circulation there is also a drain under the controller box.

20131009_190719.jpg20131030_190802.jpg

Dont know much else to say apart from that im from Newcastle, NSW and currently after more crown top bottles... kegging is pretty much out of the equation.... ive even contemplated using the tap king hack that ive seen around here.

Tighes Hill is the artsy spot now Nev. You should of stayed.

Rurik said: