Help With Honey Recipe

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rclemmett

Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm looking for a little help with making a honey beer. I have never used honey in large quantities before.

I have a bit over 1kg of mystery honey............. I was thinking of mashing 2kg wheat and 1kg pale (prolly 68-70*C for an hour). 90min boil and chucking the honey in in the last 10 minutes. Hop wise???????????? I generally like fairly bitter beers, but that might not work with honey........

Any suggestions?

Has anyone used that much honey in a pale beer before, and how did it turn out?

Also, yeast, it's cold at the moment so I was thinking s-23, but that might be a bad idea with honey and wheat.

Good idea to mash extra hot.

That's a lot of honey but not excessive.

Add it as you're chilling to try and capture some flavour and aroma.

Probably bitter less rather than more. 20-25IBU should be adequate.

Give it leads of hop flavour if your keen (1g/litre at 10 mins), Tettnanger springs to mind.

tdh

that's pretty similar to a honey recipe I did a while back- I did 2kg wheat and 2kg pale- your recipe IMO has a too high percentage of wheat. I didn't hop it very much either, bittered to about 25IBUs with a small amount of flavour hops- made a nice, mild honey beer with a standout honey flavour. I used BiLo brand honey, added at about 5 minutes (though nowadays I would add it as I begin chilling)