Heat Affected Fermentation?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chilled

Reaction score
Hi,
I have brewed my second brew (read total novice), a Brewcraft Munich Larger with Brewcraft blend #40 and supplied yeast.
I put the brew down on the 16th Dec. After reading about conditioning thought I would give that a go. I racked it off to a glass carboy I had lying around on the 22nd Dec. to let it 'rest' for a couple of weeks.
During this time the temp. here on the mid north coast of NSW were up pretty high so I was continually putting wet towels over it with a fan going 24/7 i.e. not allowed to put it in the fridge. Over this period nothing seembed to happen as I expected but the beer didn't clear either.
Now with the temperatures a little cooler it apprears to have started fermenting again??? (White foam has appeard on the surface again for past 3/4days). During the hot period the brew smelled like beer but now it smells like apple cider and despite adding a clearing agent from the brew shop it is still cloudy.
OG 1.030 SG now 1.010! As the beer tastes ok I am assuming everything is alright but what should I do now wait or bottle? Should the beer be clear by now...do I wait for it to clear?
Any thought/criticism would be appreciated.

Chilled

Chilled said:
Hi,
I have brewed my second brew (read total novice), a Brewcraft Munich Larger with Brewcraft blend #40 and supplied yeast.
I put the brew down on the 16th Dec. After reading about conditioning thought I would give that a go. I racked it off to a glass carboy I had lying around on the 22nd Dec. to let it 'rest' for a couple of weeks.