Have The Ingredients And No Recipe

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Morebeer4me

Reaction score
Can someone help with some instructions , a mate has rocked up with a bag of goodies from lhbs.He would like me to make him a James squire amber ale, as this is my fourth brew i said WTF. He assumed I was an expert in brewing now, we discussed this over a few blondes (brew no.1). Anyway back to the question I have in the bag the following1 x tin Muntons Blonde1 x tin coopers malt extract500 grams of corn syrup powder1x packet of hops (cluster)And some good yeast (Safale)
Do I need to boil extract or just pour it all in the tub, pitch the yeast at 22and then toss in the hops ?

Man all those tins of extract and some sugar....yuck. I'd look on the recipe database for similar extracts, get some steeping spec malts and some fresh hops then make a nice beer. I got that book "the complete joy of homebrewing" and it has some great extract recipes in it. Not promoting the book but it does have heaps of good recipes and explains everything really clearly for begginers through to all grain.
:icon_cheers:

Look up Dr smurtos golden ale kit version. I have done this one 4 times now out of 13 brews and it a cracker. Had a bloke try some on the weekend and he couldn't believe it was a kitnbits.

Man all those tins of extract and some sugar....yuck. I'd look on the recipe database for similar extracts, get some steeping spec malts and some fresh hops then make a nice beer. I got that book "the complete joy of homebrewing" and it has some great extract recipes in it. Not promoting the book but it does have heaps of good recipes and explains everything really clearly for begginers through to all grain.