Well, my point was that 1/3 of the fermentables are not grain. I call maltose/dextrose/lactose/maltodextrin/sucrose/fructose etc. sugar. Perhaps it is not accepted in this community, but I think that's the terminology used by organic chemists.
Anyway, we should start a "semantics" thread if we want to continue this discussion, as we are really hijacking Nath's thread here.
Maltose is one of the major sugars extracted from malted barley, so by your semantics, there is no such thing as all grain, just all sugar beers. I dont really care what organic chemist' call it.
And i think it might help nath with his beers, as i dont know anyone here who would think that DME is the same as sugar, when it comes to brewing.