Grain To Water? And Ideas!

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pauldidge

Reaction score
hi
i am new to brewing,this xmas my parter got me a coopers brew kit which is going very well!
but then my dad got me 7kg of grains for a all grain experment.
how much water to 7kg of grain?

here is the list of grain i got,any ideas on brews?

Munich malt, German, 1kg
Barrett Burston Pale malt, 2 kg
Pilsner malt, German, 2kg
Crystal malt, pale, 2kg

??

C'mon Manticle, help the guy out if you're going to reply. Giving him mash figures won't help him much, ask questions.

Screwy

are the grains i have a good base for a good beer? i am getting equipment together at the mo, thought i would my eskye for the mash.

are the grains i have a good base for a good beer? i am getting equipment together at the mo, thought i would my eskye for the mash.

Paul have a look here, it has a good description of which grains are suited for which beer.

http://www.craftbrewer.com.au/shop/default.asp?CID=21

And then have a look here to see which hops you could use.

http://www.craftbrewer.com.au/shop/default.asp?CID=17

What level of brewing are you up to? More info you can give the more people can help.

I think you have the base there for a few different styles. The one that stands out for me would be maybe something like a pilsener or german. You dont want to use much of the crystal in one brew though.

Cheers Brad

Good grains to start with, you need to ask a lot of other questions before you start out and I suggest you do a lot of reading. Start with John Palmers "How To Brew" available online at http://www.howtobrew.com/intro.html