Good House Ale Reccomendations

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kungfutigerrob

Reaction score
Hi Ya'll

I'm a newbie at brewing, been doing it for 6 weeks so far, and I've only just tasted my first effort, which is a Mangrove Jacks Classic Blonde with 200 gms of steeped Caramunich 1, 1kg of brew booster, 20gms of Amarillo hops (pellets) added at 10 minutes into the 10 minute boil of the grain liquor.

Fermented with Safale US-05 yeast at 18 degrees for 2 weeks, then bottle carbed and left to mature for 4 weeks.

It tastes great to my untrained and VB/Fourex tainted taste buds, though disappointly lacking in substance and oopmph.

I now have a second fermenter so that I can boost production, and I have bottled a Wal's Lager, steeped 250 gm Pilsner grain, 1 kg brew booster, lager yeast that came with the can.

I also have a Kilkenny style beer that is maturing, a Double Choc Stout Fresh Wort kit that has been in the fermenter for 2 weeks now, so will be bottled very soon, and a Coopers Munich Lager that consists of a can of Coopers Lager, 1 kg of Beer Enhancer 2, 200gm of steeped Caramunich, 30gm of Hallertau hop pellets and Saflager S-23 yeast.

I've been reading this forum for atleast two months now, and my head is starting to spin from the information overload.

What I'm trying to do is step away from the beer enhancer and ease myself into partial mashes, then BIAB ala Nicks $30 thread.

But one step at a time, I'm still learning what all of the abbreviations mean.

My next concotion is what I need advice on.

In my innocence, and after heavily reading the knowledge that this forum delivers, I have decided to brew a One and a Half Toucan which consist of:

One and a half cans of Coopers Real Ale (2.55kg)

Steeped for an hour @ 66 degrees
500gms Caramunich 1
500gms Carapils
500gms Carabelge