Glass carboy - what to brew

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

philmud

Reaction score
A friend just gave me a 25L glass carboy & I'm interested in brewing something that will benefit from a few months bulk aging. It seems that the obvious thing to do is some kind of funky beer, and while I'm not adverse to the idea, I have no real experience with any sour it funky brews (brewing OR drinking). Does anyone have any suggestions? As far as big beers go, I lean more towards Belgians than barley wines & RIS etc.
Also curious about the importance of temp control post primary fermentation. I won't be able to dedicate fridge space to this & my garage gets very hot in summer. I'm thinking I might need to delay this until April or so, but then it'd need to be bottled by this time next year. So six-eight months aging would be about the limit.
All advice gratefully received!

Following this one...

I am in the same boat. I picked up a 23l carboy at the market recently.

I am intrigrued by the idea of a sour beer but have no idea where to start.

manticle said:
Belgian quad/dark strong.
Belgian golden ale with brettanomyces.
Is there a commercial example of a Brett beer that showcases what it brings? I'm very curious as to what the fuss is about.

Is the process something like this?

- brew & ferment a Belgian golden ale as per usual.
- rack to carboy & introduce brettanomyces culture.
- age in carboy for several months.
- bulk prime & bottle as per usual.

hi, what will be happening to your beer with big temperature fluctuations? i wouldn't do it without control of the temp but hey if you don't need the glass for anything else...

glass : primary in something else then transfer, much easier cleaning that way and no chance of chunky bits dropping back into the beer after the party's died down