Gas Bubbles In The Beer Line?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ozshots

Reaction score
Guys,

I'm new to the draft systems and I recently put together a kegerator.

I have some pictures here:

http://www.aussiehomebrewer.com/forum/inde...20&start=20

BTW: I hope I done the right thing by starting a new forum topic to discuss a separate issue rater then mixing it all together...

Here is my question:

I have 2 corny kegs attached to the Perlick taps. One works just fine.
The second one has a problem: there are bubbles of gas in the beer line! Every time I pour a beer I get lots of foam. Once the glass if filled, the beer line contains just beer. As soon as I close the tap, I see gas bubbles coming out of corny keg thats not right and thats not happening with the other keg.

I tried to replace quick disconnect but it does not help. Do I need to replace an o-ring again? Can I still do it if my keg is filled with beer?

Another though: I was doing forced carbonation laying my keg on the side. Is it possible this is how the gas gets into the beer line? I imagine it would go out with first 2 glasses of beer

So Keg 1 with tap 1 works fine, but keg 2 with tap 2 gives foam. What happens with keg 1 and tap 2, keg 2 and tap 1?

If you've replaced the o-ring already then it should be fine. Could indicate a small hole towards the top of the dip tube with is allowing the gas in as well as some beer. But more likely sounds over carbed.

Whats the pouring pressure, beer line length and beer line ID?

lots of head, no bubbles = over carb
lots of head, lots of bubbles = slight over carb
lots of head due to bubbles in the beer line = line too long.
no head, no bubbles = undercarbed.