First time Off the Reservation (No Kit Recipie!)

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BrewinWalruss

Reaction score
Hey all,

I've been brewing for about two years now (with a break. Stupid moving house), and am settling into a serious production line now... I bottled a dark ale today, and having got that behind me, I feel it's time to make the jump away from pre-hopped kit + kilo, and go for my own extract recipie all by my onsies :D

With that in mind, a slight bonus announcement; I am transitioning to glass bottles! Bought 100 longnecks off ebay the other day for $40.00. Saves me collecting them (especially as I now have 25 litres of ale mostly in PET to drink anyway!)

Anyways, looking for some feedback/tips on a potential recipie. I discovered brewmate and have had enormous fun 'simulating' beer to see what I can do. Have since made the trip to the brewshop, altered some on the owner's reccomendations and this is the current iteration.

It's an Imperial Russian Stout (hopefully)

5 kg Dark LME
0.5 Kg Dark Molasses sugar (used some in the dark ale, seems to work nicely!)
0.5 kg Chocolate Malt (I ADORE this stuff. Been using it in anything dark since!)
0.5 Kg Roasted Barley
50g Pride of RIngwood for 60 mins (Based on Brewmate IBU predictions)
15 grams (or some there of) Fuggles at finishing (around the 10 min mark)

Brewmate stats: PRediced OG: 1.081 FG: 1.021 IBU: 45.3 ABV: 7.85% (without bottle carbonaton)

Planning on using good ol S-04 as yeast. My brewshop owner recomends this for practically anything.