First Boil

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

stuchambers

Reaction score
Hey guys on sunday I hope to put this one down just after your thoughts on the recipe

1 can coopers pilsner
700g LDME
700g Dex
30 min 6 litre boil
20g summer saaz 30 min
20g summer saaz 15min
10g summer saaz 5min
s23 yeast
batch size 23l

using spreed sheet i should get 1.046 OG, 1.010 FG, 30.3 IBU

Does my hopping schedule seem ok. This is my first attempt at adding hops.

Cheers Stu

If you are looking to increase your aroma, you could increase your 5 min addition amount and move it to say 1 min.

It looks good to me at first glance.

A pilsner should have that hop aroma so what if I use this.

20g 30min summer saaz
20g 15min summer saaz
20g 1min summer saaz

Do I have to crash cool this liquid by straining it into a cold wort or placing the pot in ice cold water or will the hops stop bittering enough when just removed from the heat.

One more question why does the boil have to have a gravity of 1.040?

Well you want some sugars in the wort while boiling to help in gaining the potential bitterness from the hops, hence the 1040. Or do you mean the preboil gravity - after boiling it will increase due to evaporation of some water from the wort.

An alternative for your late hops is the hop tea method, using a coffee plunger or you could dry hop (but dry hopping can lead to perceived grassiness on the pallette).

In your case doing a small boil, just go with the water bath in the kitchen/laundry sink as soon as the boil is finished. This worked a treat for me back in my partial days.

Good luck with the brew!

Heu guys,
I did this recipe last night.
The boil seemed to go fine no hiccups, the final hopping schedule was
20g at 30 min
20g at 20 min
10g at 10min
10g at 1 min
all additions summer saaz.