First Beer I've Ever Tipped Down The Sink

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

andreic

Reaction score
OK,

I've read a lot of posts where people talk about beers that were so bad they tipped them down the sink. I've been silently thinking to myself "beer snob - beer is beer, some are just better than others, I would never tip one out". Well, a mate left a carlton "pure blond" over from the other night and I thought "why not, lets give it a try". First sip was bad, real bad... better have another sip - still real bad... come on, its still a beer... third sip... aaaaaarrrgggghhhhh yuck, yuck, yuck... down the sink she goes! I guess I'm now a "beer snob". I now proclaim this the worst beer I have ever tasted! I'm not good at describing tastes, but something made it feel like pastry on the tongue and it had a real sweet, sickly taste. At least I know I didn't consume too many calories!

Just thought I'd share that with you. Am now replacing that taste with a homebrew pale ale...

Andrei

Geez, I didn't think pure blonde was that bad!

I have to say Carlton Stirling is one of the worst. Had about 3 slabs left over from my 30th a few years ago. Took a loooooooong time to drink it, and even then, half the bottle went down the sink in disgust....

:blink:

Andreic,
I have not tried it but I reckon it will be the same as the rest.
If it is that bad how did it win an award at the the beer world cup ??
>>
Winners 2006
Category: 31 American-Style Low-Carbohydrate Light Lager - 5 Entries
Gold: Egils Lite, The Brewery Egill Skallagrimsson Ltd., Reykjavik, Iceland
Silver: Pure Blonde, Foster's Australia, Abbotsford, Australia
Bronze: Cobra Lower Cal Lower Carb, Cobra Beer Ltd., London, England
>>

Luke

It could be like having a good house in a bad street!